Rice Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was an awesome base for a gluten free and dairy free recipe. Didn't have rice, so used buckwheat. Substituted almond milk. Also added cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg to taste, as well as one egg. Next time will add baked apple chunks. Excited to play around with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I just made this recipe for the first time and it turned out pretty well. We are new to gluten-free and I was craving a baked good of some sort. This definitely helped my craving! I substituted almond milk in place of cows and agave for the sugar. I added a pinch of salt, cinnamon and vanilla. The texture is still very different from regular pancakes, but I was able to get used to it after a couple of bites. Thanks for the recipe. Update: When I made this the second time, I mixed the ingredients slightly different and the outcome was a very fluffy pancake! I used the same substitutions as stated above, but made these changes: heated my skillet first, mixed dry and wet ingredients separately then added the wet ingredients on top of the dry, only mixed about 10 times with a whisk til it was just barely combined, then immediately scooped onto my skillet. This texture was more like regular pancakes than when I tried to mix it with the electric mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I can't wait for my 16 month old to try these. I made the recipe to a t. I just ate one without butter or syrup and loved the flavor and texture. I didn't notice the grainy texture that I sometimes get with rice flour recipes. I made the recipe into "cookie size" rounds and I think these are going to be our little girl's version of a cookie when she can't eat what we are having. Great recipe! What a relief to have something for our gluten and egg free kiddo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
excellent...did not expect it to be this good but had to use up some precooked rice...glad I found it...and as everyone seems to say..."even my fussy husband enjoyed them"...I would however cut back on the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
wow! these aree amazing!! i used brown rice flour [thats all i had in the kitchen],9 and added 1/2 a beaten egg for fluffiness. otherwise i followed the rest to a tee, and these are the BEST pancakes ive eaten!! i think the sweetness of the rice flour makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Can't wait to try these. I have celiac disease and grandson has egg/dairy allergies. This has us both covered. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
hmmm.. well this recipe didn't go over very well with my family. But since so many other people did like it I thought I could help with the bland taste. I added vanilla and cinnamon to it since it had rice, it tasted very good just not what we were were looking for. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilyanne78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklinton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I am sorry but just did not work out for me. The batter was a lot and it thickened up substantially.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
They were pretty awesome. I didn't have rice flour so I used normal flour and they turned out great. Kind of bland though so I experimented with lots of random spices. Cajun or oregano were the best oddly enough. I made small ones which made great appetizers. Lots of fun, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
We have no food allergies, so we make these with normal wheat flour. But this is a really tasty way to use up rice from dinner the night before. Plus, we are always running out of eggs, so it's a great breakfast option that uses stuff we normally have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States