Rice Mess Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Was Really good, but, as others said, needs a little more doctoring. Will be looking forward to trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This was simplistic and very tasty. I used brown rice instead of white, and adjusted my cook time for the brown rice accordingly. I made the rice and the meat in advance the night before so when I got home, all I had to do was heat everything and melt the cheese. I doubled the garlic and omitted the mushrooms as the kids won't eat them. Instead of using American cheese I covered it with one cup of shredded nacho cheese blend. Everyone asked for seconds. This would be a great make freezer make ahead meal or a potluck meal. You could even use this as a 'stretcher' for taco meat by replacing the tomato sauce with salsa. The options are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I love this recipe! Perfect for a busy weeknight when you have no ideas and no time for dinner. I just added a little basil and oregano and 3 cloves of garlic for more flavor. I used rice cheese for my daughters and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This was really good, An earlier reviewer stated this reminded her of athe inside of a stuffed pepper so I added some chooped green pepper and onion and added a little more garlic and added a dsh of wishtershire sauce to the filling like I would when I make stuffed peppers. my family of 6, 2 adults 1 teenager and 3 under age 8 finished the entire pan at dinner. will make again. Already told DH that the next pot luck we have I am making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This came out really good - 5 stars because even my step son who doesn't care for rice ate this without much complaining lol. I followed the recipe closely. I made it go further by making more rice (3c water & 1-1/2c brown basmati) and I had some grape tomatoes to use up so I chopped them up and added them to the ground beef mixture and that's my only changes, they're minor - just modifying the quantities of items in the recipe (chopped tomatoes and tomato sauce similar enough) and that worked well for us. We'll have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I really enjoy this recipe. It is quick to make and usually I have all the ingredients on hand. I do add a can of corn to this. Fresh Italian bread goes great with this. It is a good recipe to adjust to your families personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This is not a gourmet meal, but it gets five stars for how quick and easy it is to make and for the surprisingly good taste. I made some small changes to this recipe. I used garlic powder and minced onion and I added some chili powder, Cajun seasoning, and just a small bit of brown sugar. Then I sprinkled shredded cheese over the top. It turned out fantastic. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was a pretty well-named recipe. It was quick and filling and cheap and well-rounded, I guess, but it was just kind of blah. Nothing especially tasty. I made it exactly as written, using 93% lean ground beef, a small/medium yellow onion, and sliced "medium cheddar". For the mushrooms, I wasn't sure about can weight versus net (drained) weight, but I used 2 cans of 4oz. drained weight, and that didn't seem to be too much mushrooms. This does take a fairly big skillet. My skillet was getting full, so I transferred everything to a slightly larger pot, and continued to cook the "mess" on medium until the cheese melted a bit. It was good enough to gobble down for several dinners, but I probably won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This stuff is awsome both of my picky guys like it I did use fresh shredded cheddar cheese instead of slices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Random Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
this was a nice dish but needed something extra as it was a bit bland. i even used some of the suggestions but would need to add more of the extra herbs atc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States