Rice Flour Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I used this recipe but made mine savory as I was in a pinch and wanted something to put a hamburger on. I added garlic and onion powder to the mixture along with dried basil. Some ground chia seeds gave it texture. I was very happy with how the pancake "buns" turned out. My 13 year old son; and food critic, enjoyed his as well. Nice base for many possibities. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Modzel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I started experimenting with gluten free recipes a couple months ago and I had a very hard time to buy into it. We could not stand the different taste and consistency. These pancakes are the best gluten-free meal I had so far. I followed a review suggestion and added 1/2 tsp of baking soda to add flufiness to the final product and 1 Tbsp of coconut palm sugar ( it has a much lower glycemic index than brown or regular sugar). Even my 12 years old daughter loved the "hot cakes". I will definetly will make it over and over again. By the way, I waited two hours after making the batter before I cooked them and it really worked. I will do it overnight from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Remember to add baking powder! You need leavening for pancakes to rise up and be fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time today. Made a 'ham and tomato sandwich' for lunch. Excellent substitute for normal bread. Also tried one with raspberry jam on it. A two course lunch without the dreaded gluten. Going to make some more and cook them in butter and try them instead of naan bread with our curry. Not as fluffy as I expected but will work on that over the next few days. Might try GF baking powder. So many ideas to try after reading other reviews. Ps Where I live in Spain GF products are three times the price of normal foods, this is a versatile basic recipe with loads of possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
The recipe listed is excellent for savory asian dishes with thick sauces. I modified the ingredients and made very delicious banana breakfast pancakes: -canola oil instead of vegetable oil (be careful as rice flour and canola oil tend to heat very quickly! I turned the heat down to medium ) -1/2 cup brown sugar -1 over-ripe banana -almond milk - sea salt -teaspoon of vanilla extract I did not wait an hour! I used a pinch of baking soda and everything turned out great! It made about 5 very large pancakes. The taste was mild, and a different texture than regular pancakes. I was very happy with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Fong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I had no idea rice flour could be used to make pancakes. slight modifications, added 1 tbsp brown sugar, 2 drops almond extract, subbed almond milk and canola oil, 2 tbsp potato flour instead of some of the rice flour, 1 tsp of baking powder. I only let it sit for about 45 minutes - but they came out moist and fluffy! Slightly closer to cake because its not as chewy as wheat flour pancakes, but awesome for gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
These were good once I added a teaspoon of baking powder. Otherwise they didn't rise at all. Very simple recipe which I will make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
My boyfriend recently went glutten-free and usually when I try to make a dish which I like as a glutten version, I don't like the glutten-free version that much. These pancakes are maybe even better than the glutten pancakes I used to cook. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Great recipe. The taste is the same as regular pancakes but the texture is not as fluffy. They don't freeze very well because they turn to rubber, but over all a great recipe if you have that craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Made these this morning and they were good, though they were very egg-y. I added some vanilla and a little brown sugar to the mix. Will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States