Rice Casserole with Cheese and Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Ok, so the problem that everybody has is the "dryness" issue, but I think the recipe creator forgot to mention that you have to COVER the casserole before placing it in the oven. Just do that, and you'll have the most moist mushroom rice casserole, well done Rebecca, this is a keeper..!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mais

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Why didn't I read the reviews before I made this recipe? I halved the recipe as I only wanted two servings and maybe some leftovers. As soon as I cooked the rice I realized I was in trouble. I doubled the amount of soup the recipe called for. I wish I'd mixed in some milk to add moisture, as the result was still somewhat dry. The resulting rice mixture completely filled a 2 1/2 quart baking dish. Seems to me that somehow the recipe is off a bit, as I was only making half a recipe and the FULL recipe is supposed to fill a smaller dish. While this was a bit bland, there is hope for this recipe. IF I make it again, I will cook much less rice in chicken broth instead of water. I would also add some salt, pepper, and probably a little garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
You can get it to taste good if you change the amounts of just about every ingredient. Then it is no longer this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I also cut the rice by 2 cups dry and added chicken boullion to the rice as it cooked. This way there's no need to add butter or a much smaller amt. if one chooses to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concrete, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I like the easy recipe. I used cream of chicken soup instead. My only complaint it the amount of butter required for this dish. I followed the advice of the previous posters to reduce the amount of rice because it may come out too dry... I dont know. Mine came out excessively buttery. So I guess, if you cut the rice, cut the butter!!! p.s. if anyone knows how to fix up the overpowering butter situation, let me know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This recipe came out very good when I only added about 1 1/2 cups of rice and I also added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Really good pot-luck dish. The almonds are a pleasant surprise to first-timers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I have made this recipe for years, but with 4 cups of COOKED rice, that is about 2 cups of uncooked rice. Also, do not drain the canned mushrooms, and and rinse out the soup cans with a little water and add that. It is great! Please try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
cut the rice in half and it is pretty good - else too dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States