Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I didn't have any green onions, so I threw in fresh chives. And I had lots of cheddar cheese and no sour cream. And we don't like rice so I... am just kidding. It cracks me up, how we all fiddle with recipes. I did fiddle with this one to suit my pantry. It was easy. It was delicious. This is a very forgiving recipe. I'm keeping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
A good recipe for leftover rice. I did have to change a bit. I had 3 1/2 cups of rice,I used a whole can of corn, 1 1/2 cups of cheese, 2 tablespoons of oregano, salt and pepper. Still seemed to be missing something. I will try some different spices and maybe add more veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Delicious! I made this with broccoli instead of corn, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chel79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This turned out very good. I doubled the recipe to take to a potluck. I mad a few changes based on what I had on hand. I used brown rice cooked in chicken stock and I used low fat half and half instead of milk. I had some that I needed to use up. I used Monterey Jack cheese and added about a 2 tablespoons of feta cheese with tomato and basil. I also used Durkees Steak Seasoning. By using the steak seasoning and the feta cheese, this turned out to be a very flavorful casserole. Several people asked be for the recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I took other reviewers advice and cooked my rice in homemade chicken stock with minced garlic and a couple tbsp. of butter. I also used a full 8 oz. monterey jack cheese. I had half of a can of evaporated milk from when I made BBQ Glazed Homemade Meatballs(also from this site) so I used that so there was no waste. I added a tsp. of Frank's hot sauce and a tbsp. of Jack Daniel's dijon mustard. Just trying to pep it up a bit. I'll update how everyone liked it after dinner. EDITED: Meh. Just okay, even with my changes. Hot with the kids, too bland for the grownups. Sorry. I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Very good...I used brown rice and added some garlic powder, fresh ground pepper and Tony's seasoning. Very good bones though with the cheese and sour cream duo! Will make again. Kids and hubby liked it alot! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made this tonight & I changed 2 things,1 I cooked the rice in vegetable broth,& I used pepperjack cheese in the casserole & monterey jack for the topping.My DH & I thought it was wonderful. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was easy to make, but didn't have much flavor. there was no way this was going to fit into a 1qt casserole, and it fed way more than 6!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Schanze

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I used cream cheese instead of sour cream and it was very creamy! My taste buds had to get used to the taste of this dish because it was different. After the first few portions, I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I needed something quick for a pot luck and had everything in the house. I never use white rice, I mix brown rice with equal amounts of wild rice for a nice texture and flavor. Everyone's reviews were great and I rely on this a lot. I added half pepper jack and half cheddar, and sprinkled some garlic powder, used the whole can of drained corn and a good cup of chopped green onions. It is delicious even cold before I baked. Will make this again especially for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dablacks77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States