Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I loved this recipe. I changed only a couple things; I used low fat cream cheese instead of sour cream and I did not use onions, and I thought it made an excellent rice casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This turned out very good. I doubled the recipe to take to a potluck. I mad a few changes based on what I had on hand. I used brown rice cooked in chicken stock and I used low fat half and half instead of milk. I had some that I needed to use up. I used Monterey Jack cheese and added about a 2 tablespoons of feta cheese with tomato and basil. I also used Durkees Steak Seasoning. By using the steak seasoning and the feta cheese, this turned out to be a very flavorful casserole. Several people asked be for the recipe. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Very good recipe. I had no green onions so I used dried chives instead. I also used a combination of cheeses, mostly cheddar and monterey jack. Absolutely delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andicaity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Very good...I used brown rice and added some garlic powder, fresh ground pepper and Tony's seasoning. Very good bones though with the cheese and sour cream duo! Will make again. Kids and hubby liked it alot! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was way too dry. I think the flavor combination was o.k. after a few modifications to my tastes, but couldn't get over how dry it was. Not a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made this tonight & I changed 2 things,1 I cooked the rice in vegetable broth,& I used pepperjack cheese in the casserole & monterey jack for the topping.My DH & I thought it was wonderful. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I took other reviewers advice and cooked my rice in homemade chicken stock with minced garlic and a couple tbsp. of butter. I also used a full 8 oz. monterey jack cheese. I had half of a can of evaporated milk from when I made BBQ Glazed Homemade Meatballs(also from this site) so I used that so there was no waste. I added a tsp. of Frank's hot sauce and a tbsp. of Jack Daniel's dijon mustard. Just trying to pep it up a bit. I'll update how everyone liked it after dinner. EDITED: Meh. Just okay, even with my changes. Hot with the kids, too bland for the grownups. Sorry. I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Too bland. Needs garlic powder, salt, and pepper. I used brown rice, fat free milk, and fat free sour cream to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This turned out really well, but I did make a couple of changes based on what was in my pantry. I skipped the green onions and corn. I added about 8 turns of the McCormick's Steakhouse Seasoning Grinder. I didn't measure the cheese, but I used about 6 ounces of Monterey Jack. I only used 1/3 c milk (because I'm too lazy to wash two measuring cups) and I used brown rice. It was delicious! True comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Really good and different. Awesome with broccoli too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States