Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jen Pahl
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I don't normally do this, but I made a lot of changes. But, I think the integrity of the dish is still here. Also, if you're a Packers fan you could serve this for a game, with the modifications I made it comes out green and gold! I used mozzarella as the cheese, grilled corn off the cob, added 1 whole diced green pepper, and a teaspoon of black pepper. Be sure to get some of the green from the onion in there, too. Lastly, be sure to use a 1.5 quart baking dish or you'll run out of room. Everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Great simple way to change up rice, I made it with 1 cup of rice, used lots of cheese but I would put butter in the warm rice before I tossed it with everything else for flavour and lubrication but turned out great! Browned cheese on top and S&P to your taste is required IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hpojames

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanna, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I substituted frozen peas for the corn, and used a can of evaporated milk instead of regular milk. Came out of the oven thick, creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
So easy to make, and tasted great! Lots of cheese which I liked. Added small amount of salt & pepper just to tone the taste for my liking. Wonderful way to use left-over rice. One thing that I regretted was; I didn't have a sour cream in my pantry, so I omitted, but still I loved it! I am sure with the sour cream, the original recipe would rock! Will make it again (with sour cream, of course!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I needed something quick for a pot luck and had everything in the house. I never use white rice, I mix brown rice with equal amounts of wild rice for a nice texture and flavor. Everyone's reviews were great and I rely on this a lot. I added half pepper jack and half cheddar, and sprinkled some garlic powder, used the whole can of drained corn and a good cup of chopped green onions. It is delicious even cold before I baked. Will make this again especially for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dablacks77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Onions were too strong. Needs more spice/seasoning overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
My 13 year old son love this. It is a great side dish with any meal. Add your own seasonings to make it yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was a very good recipe - I had to substitute a mexican 4 cheese fiesta blend for the jack cheese, because that's what I had, but everything else was as written. Delicious and quick, good comfort type food, and I imagine it will be quite adaptable to a full meal once I have time to play around with tossing in some chicken or ham, or maybe some different veggies. This stays in my recipe box. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Stitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I added a 1/2 cup of grated parmesan.... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was very yummy. I used brown rice and added a few mild green chilis and it gave it a little more flavor and kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States