Rice Balls a la Tim Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
These were pretty good. They reminded me of little lasagna balls, even though it was made with rice. It would have taken quite some time, but I made a pot of rice in a rice cooker the night before. I used 2 cups cooked for the recipe, as 1 cup uncooked=2 cups cooked, according to on-line. I always keep 'best marinara sauce yet' from on here in the freezer and used that. It is the perfect sauce. I put them on a large foil lined sheet and got 12 balls. I used a 1 Tablespoon cookie scoop and did 4 level scoops per ball. And, they were a generous size! I had to bake about 5 extra minutes to get slightly crispy. The only change I would make is using 1/2 of the bread crumbs, as about that much did not get used. Thanks for the delicious meal change this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
We really liked these. The only thing I changed is that I added a generous pinch of dry Italian seasoning to the cooked beef mixture before forming the balls. I used Panko bread crumbs because that is all I had. Mine did not brown up too good (could have been the Panko) so I just stuck them under the broiler for a few minutes. This is one I will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
DELICIOUS! I did saute some onion and garlic in a little olive oil before adding the rice and water to cook, which added another dimension of flavor. Also, I actually had some pizza sauce that needed used up, so I went with that. I do know that pizza sauce is usually more heavily seasoned than regular sauce, so maybe that's why I didn't feel any other seasonings were needed, as others have mentioned. I was glad to see that these were baked instead of fried, because my usual recipe calls for frying and this was a nice change. Anyway, the flavors of these were great, they remined me of a cross between pizza (I guess from the pizza sauce) and lasagna. Wonderful recipe that I will be making again, for sure~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Fun and super easy recipe with good results. Kids loved them, Hubby and I thought they were just a tad bland. I tasted the mixture before rolling and decided to add dry Italian Seasoning and use Italian Seasoned Bread Crumbs. Son said they reminded him a little of the filling for stuffed bell peppers. All agreed that with a little more seasonings, this will be requested often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
WOW! I've finally found a recipe that contains rice that my husband actually likes (he really doesn't care for it). The only things that I changed was to cook the garlic after draining the meat so that I didn't lose any, add a bit of cayenne pepper and a bit of Italian Seasoning. This one's a keeper for sure. Thanks so much for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutton, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
my husband pronounced this recipe an instant 10... can we have it every week?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tommi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Yum! Really easy and delicious. I made them the night before our party and then rolled them in the egg and bread crumbs the next day when it was go time! Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
My husband and I liked this dish very much. It is a nice change of pace from our usual fare. I prepared the recipe exactly as written which made 10 balls for us. This dish is more filling than I expected. I served it with a simple tossed salad and red pepper soup which was an excellent combination. My husband rated the dish between a 4 and 5, and I concur. The next time I prepare this dish I would add Italian seasoning for a little more flavor. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
They were very good, and different! Here’s a tip I came across recently: to finely chop your ground beef after cooking, use a pastry blender. It’s perfect for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Yum!!! These were so good. I have never cooked the beef before making meatballs but I love the fact you don't have to worry if these are done on the inside. I used Emeril's jarred marinara sauce with them and it was delicious. Also, if using the large pampered chef scoop, you get 13 balls. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States