Rice Balls a la Tim Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
WOW! I've finally found a recipe that contains rice that my husband actually likes (he really doesn't care for it). The only things that I changed was to cook the garlic after draining the meat so that I didn't lose any, add a bit of cayenne pepper and a bit of Italian Seasoning. This one's a keeper for sure. Thanks so much for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutton, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
my husband pronounced this recipe an instant 10... can we have it every week?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tommi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Yum! Really easy and delicious. I made them the night before our party and then rolled them in the egg and bread crumbs the next day when it was go time! Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I had guests for dinner and needed to come up with something tasty for dinner with ingredients on hand. I was unsure if they would actually hold together without something to bind them other than melted cheese. To my surprise they held together nicely. I did add a bit more in the way of seasonings (Italian) and I made my own marinara sauce rather than using something already prepared. I used 2 lbs of ground beef and 2cups of cooked rice to yield 21 approx 3" diameter meat balls. My friend said she thought it tasted like lasagna in a meatball. I served seasoned green beans, a green salad, and hot dinner rolls as an accompaniment and it was plenty. Thanks for a nice easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
These were pretty good. They reminded me of little lasagna balls, even though it was made with rice. It would have taken quite some time, but I made a pot of rice in a rice cooker the night before. I used 2 cups cooked for the recipe, as 1 cup uncooked=2 cups cooked, according to on-line. I always keep 'best marinara sauce yet' from on here in the freezer and used that. It is the perfect sauce. I put them on a large foil lined sheet and got 12 balls. I used a 1 Tablespoon cookie scoop and did 4 level scoops per ball. And, they were a generous size! I had to bake about 5 extra minutes to get slightly crispy. The only change I would make is using 1/2 of the bread crumbs, as about that much did not get used. Thanks for the delicious meal change this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I thought I needed to double the recipe to feed 5 of us but it made over 30 big meatballs! Yikes:) No worries, I just froze 20 of them for a couple more meals. Anyway, doubling 2c of UNCOOKED rice makes A LOT of cooked rice. I should've just used 2c of COOKED rice, I think, but they were very good! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Recipe Group selection of 1/8/11. We enjoyed these as a change of pace. I thought more flavor was needed in the actual ball so I added basil and oregano as I cooked the meat. I had homemade pasta sauce in the freezer and used that. I got 6 good sized balls from the recipe which was more than enough to feed 3 of us with a green salad and freshly made Italian bread on the side. Thanks for an interesting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
My husband and I liked this dish very much. It is a nice change of pace from our usual fare. I prepared the recipe exactly as written which made 10 balls for us. This dish is more filling than I expected. I served it with a simple tossed salad and red pepper soup which was an excellent combination. My husband rated the dish between a 4 and 5, and I concur. The next time I prepare this dish I would add Italian seasoning for a little more flavor. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
DELICIOUS! I did saute some onion and garlic in a little olive oil before adding the rice and water to cook, which added another dimension of flavor. Also, I actually had some pizza sauce that needed used up, so I went with that. I do know that pizza sauce is usually more heavily seasoned than regular sauce, so maybe that's why I didn't feel any other seasonings were needed, as others have mentioned. I was glad to see that these were baked instead of fried, because my usual recipe calls for frying and this was a nice change. Anyway, the flavors of these were great, they remined me of a cross between pizza (I guess from the pizza sauce) and lasagna. Wonderful recipe that I will be making again, for sure~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
These were pretty good. I thought they needed more flavor so I added garlic powder, oregano, and basil. These made 10 large balls for us, and it was more like 6-8 servings. I ate one and was full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States