Rice Balls a la Tim Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
It was delicious but to us was more like a meatball dish to add to pasta; which is what we did. We used ground chicken, brown rice, one egg to make it stick and extra mozz cheese. It wasn't sticking great so after all ingredients were added, nuked for about 30 seconds and it was perfect. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I admit, I was shocked how awesome this turned out! I followed the recipe except I only had brown rice, doubled the mozzarella, and added a little more ground beef. I refrigerated them for about an hour. Cooked 1 hour at 350F and they were crispy and delicious. So flavorful! I didn't even need the extra sauce on top, but my husband liked it. I was a little skeptical at first but this reminded me once again to always try something new. This is also very budget friendly. Will go into my permanent weeknight rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I have never had to sub as many ingredients and have it turn out fantastic. Didn't have but 1/2 c. rice, so added orzo to make up the cup. Always use ground venison instead of beef because of lower cholesterol. Didn't have any bread crumbs so used crushed saltines. Didn't have the mozzarella so used a Mexican blend. Used homemade/home canned spaghetti sauce. Other than THESE changes, followed the recipe and it was wonderful. Looks like it's time to go shopping to replenish my pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
It's not eye appealing BUT it was pretty delish, the picky 16 yr old loved it AND the 6 yr old loved even after looking at it and before tasting it and saying "I don't like that, it looks gross". The sauce I would have a different sauce than I used (Traditional Prego I didnt like). I think actually a sauce that is NOT so thick or add a can of diced tomatoes to a tomato sauce?? I will make it again and I would recommend it to my friends! Also I'm gonna have to change the name of it too, sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Absolutely amazing. Easy to make and delicious! Thank you for an amazingly authentic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Followed the recipe to a T, Didn't fall apart. will make again, they were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
The balls are very tasty. I added a few extra things to the recipe. I sauteed about 1 cup of mushrooms and mixed them in with the rice and beef. Also I added some spices to the tomato sauce. Not sure my balls didn't want to get all that golden and crispy in the oven, but they still tasted delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ania

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
VERY simple, VERY good. VERY inexpensive! Before reading reviews, I had upped the hamburger to 2# and added Italian seasoning to garlic saute. The only other thing I did was to put them in a cupcake pan to bake (the size I made was perfect for it, and I got 15 balls out of a doubled recipe), and lightly sprayed the pan and tops of balls with a cooking spray to help along the crisping. I will definitely make these again. I used a slightly cheaper cut of meat and the rice really stretches the dollar. All in all, about $7.00 fed a family of 4 adults and 2 children, and I have leftovers! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
These were great! We had company and they loved them as well. I used brown rice, ground turkey, oregano, basil, panko for bread crumbs and added spinach to make them a bit healthier for my kiddos. These are great to add all sorts of veggies in like grated carrots, pureed cauliflower or broccoli ect...Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deepika Kumar
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I made this last night and my fiance loved it. The only different I did, was to add a pinch of oregano and I used panko bread crumbs and deep fried them and then poured pasta sauce topped with cheddar cheese and parsley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States