Rice Balls a la Tim Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
These were fabulous! VERY cheesy. I prepped these the night before so all I had to do was roll them in the egg and breadcrumb and bake after work. Definitely cut the amount of breadcrumbs in half as suggested by others. I am so glad to find an oven method of arancini instead of deep frying. I used leftover chopped up grilled Italians for the meat. YUM! served with a caesar salad with radishes instead of croutons and garlic bread. These are filling. 1 rice ball per person is plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
These were AMAZING. I added a little more meat than the recipe calls for, but otherwise, I pretty much followed the directions. They turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
it was very easy, but not very quick. my husband and I enjoyed them. nice flavor. I made a mistake and used a full pound of Hamburger but there was plenty of rice to make up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Made these for my boyfriend and parents yesterday and received great feedback. I used ground turkey and mixed in oregano, italian seasoning, basil, thyme, minced jalapenos, chopped garlic, chopped onion, and a pinch of chili seasoning to the cooked meat. Then mixed in a combination of brown and white rice, mozzarella cheese, parmesean cheese, and a garlic herb pasta sauce . I had no problem forming the balls. I let them cool in the fridge for a half an hour before coating in the egg and bread crumbs. I was able to form around 26 good sized balls out of the 1 1/4 lbs of turkey meat I had. Served with sauce, garlic bread, and a bit of rigatoni pasta. Plenty of left overs. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
My husband probably would have rated at 4 or 4.5. I thought these were pretty good, but not amazing. Although maybe next time I'll add more seasoning, esp salt. I used pizza sauce in the balls and thought that would be seasoned enough. Also, I used a different sauce (one with artichokes--yum) to top them and that did make them taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Made 7 humongous balls the size of baseballs. Tasty, though. I wonder if you could cut down on the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I tried these yesterday, we loved them! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noella271

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
These were really yummy especially with marinara sauce on top. I used ground turkey breast and white rice with a blend of italian cheeses. Just the right amount of cheese. Delish! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Not hard to make, must remember to GENTLY form balls, if you squeeze together too hard it will not stick. My older son does not like rice, but he loved these. I doubled the hamburger, and added 1/4 more of each cheese (my husband says it still needs more cheese). My two younger sons didn't care much for them, but they each ate one ball. I made 18 balls at about 1.5 inches, this was with 1 lb hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinaob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I really liked these but my husband and daughter weren't thrilled...but they did like them. They were very easy to make and took little time and effort. I will try this again in the future but may tweak it a bit with suggestions from the hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States