Rice Balls a la Tim Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I emailed this recipe to my daughter to make for a small dinner party. My daughter is still in the process of learning how to cook, however she is a picky eater and fussy over certain foods. She told me that this was very simple and turned out wonderful, in fact she spent about 30 minutes on the telephone raving over this dish and the compliments she received from her dinner guests! Well done, Tim, whoever you are, and thank you, Queenbee28 for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
We loved these, but I made quite a few important changes that I think works better and cuts prep time almost in half: I kept the pasta sauce out of the rice ball mixture and they were the perfect consistency to stick together in a ball and were very moist. I also used brown rice and added onion, and skipped the refrigerating step. Putting them in the refrigerator seemed to me a backwards step. The balls were holding together fine so I went ahead and dipped them in the beaten egg and bread crumbs. Then I ONLY had to put them in the oven for 15 minutes and they were crispy! Way faster than if I would have followed the recipe. It seemed to me, too many steps and too long of a prep time...these turned out great...don't forget to add salt to the ball mixture too, another thing I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This is a delicious, easy recipe. I did not change any of the actual ingredients - only the amount of rice. I cooked the entire cup of rice but only used about half of it in the mixture. I used my COOKIE SCOOP to make the meatbballs - easier not as messy with a much better end result. Will make again.! Thanks Queenbee28 for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shearone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
DELISH!! used 2 tbs per meatball and added a few dashes of italina seasoning to the meat while browning. Will try this with turkey next time ALso used brown rice....YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I made this for my daughters and their children and they loved them. I was surprised the kids loved them and wanted more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
These were a total family hit! Filling and tasty and easy to tweak should you so choose. I made them exactly as the recipe called for this first time but my husband and I already plan on trying them with italian sausage instead of beef, romano cheese, things like that. Thanks QUEENBEE28 for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBatQueen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
These were fabulous! VERY cheesy. I prepped these the night before so all I had to do was roll them in the egg and breadcrumb and bake after work. Definitely cut the amount of breadcrumbs in half as suggested by others. I am so glad to find an oven method of arancini instead of deep frying. I used leftover chopped up grilled Italians for the meat. YUM! served with a caesar salad with radishes instead of croutons and garlic bread. These are filling. 1 rice ball per person is plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
These were AMAZING. I added a little more meat than the recipe calls for, but otherwise, I pretty much followed the directions. They turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
it was very easy, but not very quick. my husband and I enjoyed them. nice flavor. I made a mistake and used a full pound of Hamburger but there was plenty of rice to make up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Made these for my boyfriend and parents yesterday and received great feedback. I used ground turkey and mixed in oregano, italian seasoning, basil, thyme, minced jalapenos, chopped garlic, chopped onion, and a pinch of chili seasoning to the cooked meat. Then mixed in a combination of brown and white rice, mozzarella cheese, parmesean cheese, and a garlic herb pasta sauce . I had no problem forming the balls. I let them cool in the fridge for a half an hour before coating in the egg and bread crumbs. I was able to form around 26 good sized balls out of the 1 1/4 lbs of turkey meat I had. Served with sauce, garlic bread, and a bit of rigatoni pasta. Plenty of left overs. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States