Rice Balls a la Tim Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Absolutely delicious. Although, I will say this about them: if you're a texture person, be forewarned. My fiance and I were making these and to be honest, we were totally grossed out by how they looked, felt, etc before they were baked- to the point where we almost didn't eat them. SO glad we did, though- a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Shirilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Awesome recipe...first thought was making this as an appetizer for some chicken parmesean...but ended up being the main course. I put garlic and onion powder into my rice cooker to give the rice a little extra something before mixing with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
OMG these things are SOOOOOOO awesome, served them with Newmans Own sockarooni sauce and it was the bomb diggity doo dah :) To add flavor to the rice I dissolved two beef boullion cubes in the 2 cups of water I cooked the rice in. I also added about 1/3 cup each of diced white onions and bell pepper to the ground meat as it was cooking. I dipped the balls in egg and rolled in breadcrumbs two times to give them a nice crusty outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I tried this because of all the rave reviews. I was expecting something exceptional and it turned out to be just average. My kids ate it, but they weren't crazy about it. It was kind of blah. Maybe if there was a higher meat to rice ratio and a lot more spices were added they would be better. If you make this recipe make sure to add more flavor than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Very good & very unique! My picky 2 year old loved them, too! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
They were OK. It took quite a bit longer to prepare them than QUEENBEE@* indicated and dirtied up a lot of dishes and pans. My kids and husband liked them. I doubt if I will prepare them again, BUT if I did I would put a tsp or two of italian seasoning in them. They were quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
We had 9 people over for a visit last weekend and everyone loved them. I followed the recipe but added some Italian seasoning to the beef prior to mixing with the rice and it was excellent as a main course (as soup loving Nicole suggested) We'll do these again next month too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gibby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
These were delicious!! The first time I made them I may have had a little more than 1/2 pound of beef. The second time, I made them using crumbled turkey sausage and we liked it even better. I use my home-made marinara sauce, and throw in fresh parsley and basil. I used a mixture of panko breadcrumbs with seasoned Italian crumbs that were a finer texture. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
We love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talivstouwe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Wow! Something all the kids actually love and cleaned their plates in record time. The prep-time/delay makes for an easy meal to make on the weekend and freeze the balls before baking. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States