Rice Balls a la Tim Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katface_ca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Having the 17yearoldboy sense of humor I do, how could you not love a recipe w/Balls in the title? These have been on my to try list since the first time I saw them mentioned on the Buzz, but have just now gotten around to giving them a whirl. I made them in 3 steps, browning the meat/garlic/onions one evening, boiling the rice & combining the ingredients & forming the balls the next, and rolling in egg/crumbs and baking the third. The only changes I made were to use 2 lbs of ground beef with all other ingredients remaining the same, brown rice for white because it's what I had on hand, and Italian panko fore bread crumbs. I also added some Italian seasoning and crushed red pepper to the mix. We really enjoyed the crisp on the balls (baking time was pretty spot on, for me, though I'd imagine the panko helped). The dipping sauce really makes this, so use a good sauce. I'm looking forward to reinventing this for a take on stuffed peppers! THANKS for sharing your dad's (rice) balls w/us, QUEENBEE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
we loved them! Used ground turkey brown rice and whole wheat bread crumbs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgina Sikora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Even my husband who lived in Italy for 2 years loved these. However, the second time we made them we made little cheese balls in the middle. Certainly added to it, but great without too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
These were OK, but I'm not sure they were worth the effort. I think I will just stick with regular meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Combined Turkey and Ground beef and seasoned with salt and pepper while the meats were cooking instead of later. Otherwise, we followed the plan exactly as recommended. Next time we plan to make personal size zucchini crust, put the balls on top and then cover with sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
OK, I am going to rate this on how I fixed it. I know it would be 5 stars fixed as written, but we are on a diet and I didn't want to use all the cheese. I had sticky sushi rice left over, so used that with a small amount of parmesan cheese. I used Italian seasoned ground turkey(1.25 pounds). The sticky rice held everything together nicely. I also had bread crumbs from a loaf of 3 cheese bread from the deli and I used that to roll on the balls. I also had leftover homemade pasta sauce, altho not enough to use for leftovers. They were very good and very filling. Once we lose this last 5 pounds, I will fix as written with brown rice and the cheese. It will probably send this beyond 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
These were loved by my hubby & 9-year old son, but not so much by me. They took me longer than expected to make, too. I'll do them again for family, friends, events, etc. Just not for me personally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
These were just okay. Definitely nothing special. Husband didn't really care for them and for all the work involved I probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyAnn327

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaffee, New York, USA
Living In: Yorkshire, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I wasn't even done cooking these and I knew I was going to love them! The rice was a nice change for the Italian flavors instead of pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States