Rice Balls a la Tim Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
My family and friends love these. I also tried switching it up for a healthier version, I used brown rice and ground chicken. Either way , these are great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
These were good & easy to make, but I don't know about for a main dish. Better for party food or something. It was more like a meatball which made you feel you were missing pasta. I'd serve as party food or app next time. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
As another reviewer said- these are very time consuming and not worth it at all. They didn't stay together at all and ended up coming out a bit soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Made them according to the directions. After 25 minutes of baking,the riceballs were not getting crispy so I sprayed them with some butter flavored cooking spray and left them in the oven for 5 more minutes. They came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbaraS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is the first time I've made these and I have to say that I'm really impressed with how they turned out. Reading another reviewer, I was afraid that they would fall apart when forming the balls, but I had no such problem. I used brown rice and added a few more seasonings (onion powder, dried oregano); but other than that, I followed the recipe as is. These were good enough to eat on their own! These would be great in smaller balls and served as an appetizer to guests; and I'm going to try the rice mixture as filling for stuffed peppers! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was a yummy surprise for dinner. I added some sauteed mushrooms and onions to the recipe and a little bit more marinara to the mixture. I did not have any plain mozzarella so I used a white cheese blend such as the pizza blend. Instead of using regular bread crumbs, I used panko seasoned breadcrumbs which gave it a beautiful presentation. Even the toughest critic at the table was pleasantly surprised at how fantastic the rice balls was and gave it a big thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
OMG!!! These were soooooo yummy!!! Admittedly, my Italian fried maks THE best arancini (period), but these give hers a SERIOUS run for the money! :) My only (minor) complaint is that I miss the texture of traditionally prepared, pan fried arancini. While slightly crispy, I had to spray with EVOO and bake an extra 10 minutes to achieve the texture / golden color I was looking for (FYI, it helps to bake these on the upper rack of your oven, close to the heating element). I usually tweak new recipes, but didn't feel the need to this time. Other than subbing pizza sauce for the pasta sauce called for (i.e. the 1/2 c. sauce that went INSIDE my rice balls), I made no changes. I needed to use up some leftovers in my fridge, hence the substitution. NOTE #1: To finely crumble your meat as directed, use either a pastry blender (per one reviewer's suggestion) or a potato masher. Since my pans are non-stick, I used my silicone masher. NOTE #2: Use an ENTIRE (26 oz.) jar of pasta sauce to ensure your arancini are completely covered. A cup and a half of sauce didn't cut it for me. A sprinkling of Parm and chopped basil (parsley would work too) are perfect garnishes. Garlic bread completed our meal. Thanks SO much for sharing your recipe, QUEENBEE! I'm definitely adding this gem to my keeper file. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
These were very good indeed; even my OH devoured his, and he's not very fond of rice-based dishes. I made only some minor changes to the recipe - I fried the beef with three small, crushed garlic cloves and a little diced red onion, and I added some garlic powder and a generous amount of salt and pepper to the bread crumbs. I didn't serve with extra sauce on top, as I felt that would have overwhelmed the flavor of the rice balls themselves. And that would have been a massive shame, because they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
These were fun to make and we really enjoyed them!! I think I may have used a little more ground beef than called for but we liked the ratio. I served Giada's tomato basil pasta sauce over them. Thanks queenbee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Yum! That is all I have to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States