Rice, Asparagus and Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I really don't know how to appreciate eating chilled rice without heating it up. The flavor of the dressing actually is not bad at all. I think it needs more dressing for the amount of food, but the chilled rice is a killer. Also, the recipe should've said in the ingredient list that the lettuce is for garnishing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This is awesome. I agree with other reviews that the dressing needs doubled- it is not too much whatsoever. I use Grey Poupon Country French Dijon and olive oil. I omit the dry mustard, but haven't tried it with as the dressing is so good without it that I don't see the point. This salad can handle additional vegetables if you want. It's also as good at room temperature as it is cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I changed the recipe and made for 120 servings for a church function today...I also switched the asparagus to peas and this was a FABULOUS light salad!!!! recommend using for the July 4th Holiday this week! Cale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
An excellent Mediterranean recipe; would be ideal to switch vegetable oil with pure olive oil and add half a lemon's juice to the dressing. And add parmesan shaves on top.to make it a dream come true.. Lemon, olive oil, a little bit of yoghurt and mustard whisked together would make a hell of a dressing (with some dried sweet basil or mint leaves, if available.) Thanks for sharing this healthy and tasty recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I was in such a rush, i forgot to do this with the rice. Everyone still enjoyed it. The dressing was different than we are used to, and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Schembri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
i love this, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I'm surprised this doesn't have many more reviews on it! Definitely try this salad. It's a great alternative to the typical pasta salad. I use jasmine or basmati rice because I like the flavor and like others have said I double the dressing. I also think the dry mustard is unnecessary and I leave it out lately. This goes great with ham, salmon, chicken.... anything really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I was really excited about this recipe! I used brown rice cooked in chicken stock instead of white rice (as I'm trying to eat a little more healthy). I omitted the dill just because I don't like it. And I didn't have any white wine vinegar, so I used balsamic instead. I had to make 1.5-2x more dressing than instructed, because otherwise the dish was too "grainy" tasting. The balsamic dressing was great though. I'll definitely make it again, but probably with half the amount of grains. And I might try it with quinoa instead of rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Super light and fresh... would be great in the spring and summer, a nice side for grilled salmon or other fish. I substituted brown rice (which I do in nearly every recipe) and added in some leftover yellow string beans which worked really well with the asparagus, cukes and scallions. I made the dressing as instructed, but had to tinker with it awhile to find the right balance of flavors. Might be good with champagne or rice vinegar as well. Don't be afraid to go a little heavy on the fresh dill...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I really liked this dish both hot and cold for lunch the following day. It is very pretty too! My significant other called it "pickle rice." I don't think that means he didn't like it...he still ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States