Rice, Asparagus and Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I changed the recipe and made for 120 servings for a church function today...I also switched the asparagus to peas and this was a FABULOUS light salad!!!! recommend using for the July 4th Holiday this week! Cale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
An excellent Mediterranean recipe; would be ideal to switch vegetable oil with pure olive oil and add half a lemon's juice to the dressing. And add parmesan shaves on top.to make it a dream come true.. Lemon, olive oil, a little bit of yoghurt and mustard whisked together would make a hell of a dressing (with some dried sweet basil or mint leaves, if available.) Thanks for sharing this healthy and tasty recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I was in such a rush, i forgot to do this with the rice. Everyone still enjoyed it. The dressing was different than we are used to, and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Schembri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
i love this, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I'm surprised this doesn't have many more reviews on it! Definitely try this salad. It's a great alternative to the typical pasta salad. I use jasmine or basmati rice because I like the flavor and like others have said I double the dressing. I also think the dry mustard is unnecessary and I leave it out lately. This goes great with ham, salmon, chicken.... anything really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I was really excited about this recipe! I used brown rice cooked in chicken stock instead of white rice (as I'm trying to eat a little more healthy). I omitted the dill just because I don't like it. And I didn't have any white wine vinegar, so I used balsamic instead. I had to make 1.5-2x more dressing than instructed, because otherwise the dish was too "grainy" tasting. The balsamic dressing was great though. I'll definitely make it again, but probably with half the amount of grains. And I might try it with quinoa instead of rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Super light and fresh... would be great in the spring and summer, a nice side for grilled salmon or other fish. I substituted brown rice (which I do in nearly every recipe) and added in some leftover yellow string beans which worked really well with the asparagus, cukes and scallions. I made the dressing as instructed, but had to tinker with it awhile to find the right balance of flavors. Might be good with champagne or rice vinegar as well. Don't be afraid to go a little heavy on the fresh dill...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I really liked this dish both hot and cold for lunch the following day. It is very pretty too! My significant other called it "pickle rice." I don't think that means he didn't like it...he still ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Loved this - made a wonderful accompaniment to our broiled swordfish. I only had spicy brown mustard so used two heaping tablespoons of that and omitted the dry mustard. We thought it was delicious just like that; I don't know whether the dry would have put it over the edge but we enjoyed it so much this time that I'm not sure I'll try it the other way! I used olive oil instead of veggie. And I'm just now realizing I forgot salt and pepper -- though I must note that my salt-heavy husband didn't notice either. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Mixed review. I put dressing on half of the salad; the other half (and the other half of the dressing) is still in the fridge. Followed the recipe except for using brown rice and dried dill; didn't use the lettuce. I didn't dislike the dressing but it was just strange. I thought a vinaigrette would be better. The mustard didn't, to me, complement the asparagus, or the cucumber. Again, I have mixed feelings on this recipe, but I wanted the asparagus to be the 'star' here and didn't feel that was the case with the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States