Rice and Raisin Breakfast Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Wonderful and definitely warms the tummy! I used skim milk instead of soy milk and I highly recommend using REAL maple syrup. I also used toasted walnuts instead of almonds, left out the cardamom and added some nutmeg as it pairs well with cinnamon. You could easily sub dried cranberries for the raisins - a great fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Oh my gosh, thank you so much for sharing this recipe! This is absolutely wonderful! I didn't have all the ingredients the recipe called for -- I used skim milk instead of soy, walnuts instead of almonds, and nutmeg instead of cardamom. Just delicious -- I can't say enough good things about this recipe. Not too sweet or rich -- it is just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
Oooh...I had this today and it's SO good! Also added a dash of nutmeg, which was good...works well with white rice too, of course. Just a note - if the taste of soy milk bothers you (I can't stand the stuff), try rice milk, which is much milder and works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I am 76 years old and have eaten this (with many variations) since I was knee-high to a gnat. There ae so many ways you can vary it, and if it doesn't come out "right" it's because you didn't cook your rice right. Just because one person doesn't like a recipe does that make it bad. Food is all according to taste. You know, some like their foods spicy hot, others don't, etc. Adjust it to your taste or miss out on a good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mena, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Yippee!!! I love rice pudding, but thought I'd have to give it up now that I'm making an effort to eat healthier. This is great with the brown rice and soy milk, and I loved the added crunch of almonds. I only used about 1/2 of the syrup called for, and I did end up having to add extra liquids, too. But this was yummy!!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I used fat free milk, dried blueberries (I'm out of raisins right now) and my homemade sugar free maple syrup. My kids thought this was GREAT. Like having rice pudding for breakfast. No leftovers. NOTE: I did not cook the almonds in with the cereal, I stirred them in right before serving so they wouldn't be soggy. I'm going to try this with Craisins tomorrow. I think this would be good using fat free evaporated milk if I were going to pass this off as a low-calorie/low sugar rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I loved this!!!! I only used 3T of maple syrup. It did require addtional soy milk as it was kinda dry, but no big deal to add that as you cook it. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2000
Absolutely delicious! After I bicycle into work, it is a great morning snack to get some health carbs into me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is very good, a nice change from our usual breakfast fare. I used left-over rice from the night before and low-fat milk for the soy milk. This recipe can easily be adjusted to your personal taste; a nice base to work off of. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
The kids just didn't care for this. I ended up making it twice. I don't know if it's a typo or what but 1 cup of water is not enough to cook brown rice unless you want hard little bits. Of course I didn't think about that until after I had already made it. The next time I made it with white rice as I didn't have enough brown and it was just mediocre. Definitely not anything I would go out of my way to make again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States