Rice and Raisin Breakfast Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was really good and a nice change from the usual breakfast foods. Initally, I cooked the rice with two cups of water and a pinch of salt. I didn't have any soy milk but substituted whole milk (I needed to use it up). I substituted dried cherries for the raisins-it tasted really good with the cardamom. I also added nutmeg per another reviewer's recommendations. I will make this again. I wonder if this can be made ahead and reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Awesome! This is easy to make, fills you up. It's a great recipe to tweak, as well. I didn't have maple syrup, so I used a combo of molasses and honey which seemed fine. I also added chopped apples and dates to the raisins to add to the fiber and fruit content. I love to take it to work to nuke up for breakfast. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Excellent, Excellent breakfast. I was looking for something different that would be healthful. This is it. It was not too sweet (I cut the syrup down a little) and substantial enough for a big guy. I also used chopped walnuts which I enjoy and always have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Love it! Can't use soy milk or nuts because my husband has allergies, so I used 1% cow's milk and omitted the nuts altogether. I think I might cut back just a little bit on the maple syrup next time - 1/4 a cup was just a little too sweet for my taste. I also left out the cardamom because I just couldn't find it in the pantry!! I'm excited to have something to do with our leftover rice - which happens a lot in our house after supper (this time it happened to be short grain brown rice) and I can't wait to share it with my son in the morning for breakfast. *I also agree with one of the other reviewers - to cook brown rice (unless it's 'instant') it will take 2 cups liquid for every cup of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I add warm milk and honey just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dania Lazares

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Borja, Lima, Peru
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
SOOOO DELICIOUS!! I also used less cardamom than the recipe calls for and chopped walnuts instead of almonds...simply wonderful. I've never liked rice pudding before, to be honest, and thought I'd give it another go. I'm glad I found this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Perfect! I didn't have almonds so I subed walnut pieces and it turned out delicious. I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I'm not sure what went wrong with this recipe. It was lacking something. I thought it had quite a bit of potential. Not sure if I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I think there might be a mistake in this recipe. The first step is to cook the brown rice. If you want to cook 1 cup of brown rice, you need to cook it in 2 cups of water (not 1 cup of water). I found that the cardamom was too strong in this recipe (and I like cardamom!). It might be that I used freshly ground cardamom, but either way, I would use 1/2 or 1/4 of what the recipe calls for next time. I might have to throw out the batch since the cardamom flavour is too overwhelming...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I am lactose intollerant and I miss puddings, this is a great recipe for me as I look into cooking with soy. I added craisins rather than the raisins and I eat it in place of oats. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States