Rice and Lentil Soup in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
excellent! made for christmas gifts & got rave reviews - i think the key spice is the poultry seasoning - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Came out very tasty. Didn't have any veggies, so this recipe was perfect. I used regular long grain rice (not instant) and threw in a 1/4 cup of pearl barley. Used ham instead of chicken (what I had). Didn't have poultry seasoning, so used cajun and a bay leaf instead. We loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geppetto DeVitis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Easy to prepare and very tasty! My family, even my 2 year old loved this soup. I added dried peas in lieu of one of the lentils and diced some ham instead of chicken. I am going to pre-assemble these for my own pantry, makes a great quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Made it for dinner and it was delicious, hearty, and perfect for a rainy fall night. I did add a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes for color and additional flavor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This recipe is very easily converted to vegetarian. It's nice an hearty and warming...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I've been trying out soup mixes to make for Christmas gifts- I made this one tonight and knew I'd found my winner. I used red lentils, but instead of the green ones I used split peas. Also, I added 2 Tbs. of dried chopped onion. If you don't have poultry seasoning, you can make your own (I did) using one tablespoon each of the following: sage, marjoram, rosemary, celery seed and thyme. Thank you so much for this recipe- OUTSTANDING! *UPDATE* Every time I make this, I add 1/3 c. barley and an extra cup of water to make up for the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made this as a present for the Holidays - I ended up doubling the amount of goods within the jar (by adding a second layer of the items) due to the fact I was using quart and not pint jars! Jars are now out of season and I didn't want to go out and search for pint jars. Looks like everyone is getting double the soup this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
The soup turned out into an excellent texture in the end. It is wise to simmer it for 30 minutes, as the sauce thickens and becomes a soupy texture. It was a bit spicy for my mom (who is usually okay on spices) so I would consider cutting down the pepper to a 1/3 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Murrile

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Used half the rice but its so good. I ended up eating half the soup. I would love mushrooms in it. I skipped all optional items, wanted a plain soup. This is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I can't find red lentils anywhere around here! I just used more green lentils in this soup as I was told they all taste the same. I considered using split peas as other reviewers mentioned however, wanted to try and stay close to the original recipe. I was worried about using instant rice in this since it only takes 5 minutes to cook and lentils take so much longer. It was fine but I think regular rice would have worked just as well. The flavor was good but I think it would be better with the optional chicken and celery. Overall, inexpensive, easy, good flavor, and very pretty gifts in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States