Rice and Lentil Soup in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by nadineps
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made a test batch of this before giving the mix-in-a-jar to my sons' teachers for Christmas. Very hearty and delicious! It looks so pretty in the jar, too, especially if you can find the red lentils. (If your grocery store has an Indian food section, or your town has an Indian/South Asian grocery store, you should be able to find them there as Masoor Dal. I was able to find them in an SD town of 20K.) I used regular rice. I did have to increase the ingredients by half to tightly fill a wide-mouthed pint jar. I like that the recipient only has to add water and butter to make it, and that it's ready in about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This is a delicious soup with or without the chicken! I love that I can make everything ahead except the chicken and celery (if using) and put in a mason jar and it looks lovely sitting on the shelf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I tested this on my family to see if the liked it enough for me to use as Christmas gifts to friends and family this year. They loved it and I will be giving this as a gift to lots of folks!!! I tweaked it a bit to my liking by adding 1/2 tsp thyme, 1 bay leaf, and 1/2 cup chopped carrots. I also reduced the bullion to 2 tsp since its overloaded with sodium and has msg, added 1 tsp. salt, reduced the pepper to 1/4 tsp., and increased the poultry seasoning to 2 tsp. Thanks for a fabulous recipe Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sharon, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is YUMMY....HOWEVER...trust me and reduce pepper to 1/4 tsp. as 1/2 makes it too spicy and peppery after it has cooked. Also...reduce chicken bouillon to 1 Tablespoon, as it is too salty if you don't. The only thing I added was 1 T. of minced onions and 1-14 oz. can of diced tomatoes. NOW....I will give it as gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Too much pepper. Overall, taste is a little bland, even with adding optional celery and chicken. Needs more vegetables to improve on flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I am eating this soup as I write this. It is absolutely wonderful! I love it. The only thing I changed was using 1/3 barley for 1/3 cup of rice, added a little carrot and some chicken boullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This soup turned out well. I did make many revisions based on the fact that I live in the middle east and converted rice is not an option and green lentils can be very difficult to find. I used all red lentils and a grain called farro in place of the rice. I created my own seasoning mix similar to what would be in poultry seasoning and used fresh made chicken broth instead of water. To top the soup off and give it some color I added diced fresh tomatoes. Very hearty and perfect for a cool day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella Fanther

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Love this soup and it is an extra bonus that it can be given as a gift. So easy to throw together too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
What a hurt so good soup! I wanted to try this soup, but I had to go out for the day. So I put the ingredients into my crock pot. I did change some of the ingredients. Like I used two bouillon cubes, 2/3 cups of wild rice, 2/3 cup red lentils, 1/4 teaspoon of celery seeds (because I was out of celery), 1 (13 oz.) can of chicken breast, 1/2 cup barley, 1 (14.5 oz.) can of mecian style stewed tomatoes (crushed by hand), and 1 (4 oz.) can of diced green chili. The barley, and tomatoes came from other reviewers, and what a great added addition they were to this soup. When I was ready to eat I put a few drops of lime juice in, and my husband put lime juice and some smoke flavored chipotle tabasco sauce in his. This is a keeper! Thanks for the great lentil recipe that I was wanting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States