Rice and Lentil Soup in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Came out very tasty. Didn't have any veggies, so this recipe was perfect. I used regular long grain rice (not instant) and threw in a 1/4 cup of pearl barley. Used ham instead of chicken (what I had). Didn't have poultry seasoning, so used cajun and a bay leaf instead. We loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geppetto DeVitis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
What a hurt so good soup! I wanted to try this soup, but I had to go out for the day. So I put the ingredients into my crock pot. I did change some of the ingredients. Like I used two bouillon cubes, 2/3 cups of wild rice, 2/3 cup red lentils, 1/4 teaspoon of celery seeds (because I was out of celery), 1 (13 oz.) can of chicken breast, 1/2 cup barley, 1 (14.5 oz.) can of mecian style stewed tomatoes (crushed by hand), and 1 (4 oz.) can of diced green chili. The barley, and tomatoes came from other reviewers, and what a great added addition they were to this soup. When I was ready to eat I put a few drops of lime juice in, and my husband put lime juice and some smoke flavored chipotle tabasco sauce in his. This is a keeper! Thanks for the great lentil recipe that I was wanting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Used half the rice but its so good. I ended up eating half the soup. I would love mushrooms in it. I skipped all optional items, wanted a plain soup. This is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
excellent! made for christmas gifts & got rave reviews - i think the key spice is the poultry seasoning - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Easy to prepare and very tasty! My family, even my 2 year old loved this soup. I added dried peas in lieu of one of the lentils and diced some ham instead of chicken. I am going to pre-assemble these for my own pantry, makes a great quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Made it for dinner and it was delicious, hearty, and perfect for a rainy fall night. I did add a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes for color and additional flavor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I've been trying out soup mixes to make for Christmas gifts- I made this one tonight and knew I'd found my winner. I used red lentils, but instead of the green ones I used split peas. Also, I added 2 Tbs. of dried chopped onion. If you don't have poultry seasoning, you can make your own (I did) using one tablespoon each of the following: sage, marjoram, rosemary, celery seed and thyme. Thank you so much for this recipe- OUTSTANDING! *UPDATE* Every time I make this, I add 1/3 c. barley and an extra cup of water to make up for the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
The soup turned out into an excellent texture in the end. It is wise to simmer it for 30 minutes, as the sauce thickens and becomes a soupy texture. It was a bit spicy for my mom (who is usually okay on spices) so I would consider cutting down the pepper to a 1/3 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Murrile

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Editor's Note: The rice ingredient was changed from "instant" to "converted" at the request of the recipe submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Love this soup and it is an extra bonus that it can be given as a gift. So easy to throw together too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States