Rice and Lentil Soup in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Editor's Note: The rice ingredient was changed from "instant" to "converted" at the request of the recipe submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I can't find red lentils anywhere around here! I just used more green lentils in this soup as I was told they all taste the same. I considered using split peas as other reviewers mentioned however, wanted to try and stay close to the original recipe. I was worried about using instant rice in this since it only takes 5 minutes to cook and lentils take so much longer. It was fine but I think regular rice would have worked just as well. The flavor was good but I think it would be better with the optional chicken and celery. Overall, inexpensive, easy, good flavor, and very pretty gifts in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Used half the rice but its so good. I ended up eating half the soup. I would love mushrooms in it. I skipped all optional items, wanted a plain soup. This is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
The soup turned out into an excellent texture in the end. It is wise to simmer it for 30 minutes, as the sauce thickens and becomes a soupy texture. It was a bit spicy for my mom (who is usually okay on spices) so I would consider cutting down the pepper to a 1/3 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Murrile

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made this as a present for the Holidays - I ended up doubling the amount of goods within the jar (by adding a second layer of the items) due to the fact I was using quart and not pint jars! Jars are now out of season and I didn't want to go out and search for pint jars. Looks like everyone is getting double the soup this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I've been trying out soup mixes to make for Christmas gifts- I made this one tonight and knew I'd found my winner. I used red lentils, but instead of the green ones I used split peas. Also, I added 2 Tbs. of dried chopped onion. If you don't have poultry seasoning, you can make your own (I did) using one tablespoon each of the following: sage, marjoram, rosemary, celery seed and thyme. Thank you so much for this recipe- OUTSTANDING! *UPDATE* Every time I make this, I add 1/3 c. barley and an extra cup of water to make up for the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This recipe is very easily converted to vegetarian. It's nice an hearty and warming...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Made it for dinner and it was delicious, hearty, and perfect for a rainy fall night. I did add a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes for color and additional flavor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Easy to prepare and very tasty! My family, even my 2 year old loved this soup. I added dried peas in lieu of one of the lentils and diced some ham instead of chicken. I am going to pre-assemble these for my own pantry, makes a great quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Came out very tasty. Didn't have any veggies, so this recipe was perfect. I used regular long grain rice (not instant) and threw in a 1/4 cup of pearl barley. Used ham instead of chicken (what I had). Didn't have poultry seasoning, so used cajun and a bay leaf instead. We loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geppetto DeVitis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States