Rice and Lentil Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
A very nice recipe. If it is used as a main dish, I would add a bit more salt to your own tasting. I served it with a rather salty meat and the balance was perfect as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
A delicious healthy dish. I used brown rice instead of white rice though, so I had trouble the first time because The water ran out before it was done cooking. I tried again using twice the broth and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Really tasty. I used brown rice also, so it took almost an hour to cook. The lentils got a little mushy, but everyone who tasted it liked it. I will be making this again. Great way to eat lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Very good but added salt and had to cook much longer than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Try frying the veg up in a cast iron pan, then transferring it to the oven when the lentils broth and rice are added. If you have a cast iron without a lid tin foil works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie2fist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Photo by imallie
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Yes! This was a first class rice recipe, nice enough that I served it at easter dinner. I made a few small changes. As I was eating,I did notice that a tiny amount of table salt really brought out the flavor of this one. I don't know that I would add salt into the preparations, just keep it handy at the table. I prefer the taste and texture of brown rice, so I subbed that in place of the white rice. I also think that the longer cooking time needed for brown rice is appropriate for lentils. I used chicken broth rather than the veg. broth, since that is what I had on hand. Left out the celery and tomatoes, but added about 8 ounces of diced fresh mushrooms when I combined the broth/rice/barley with the other veggies. Definitely needed longer than 20 minutes, but I just kept checking it as I prepared the other dishes. I would consider serving this as a meatless meal, with a tossed salad and bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This was just ok, I don't think I'd make it again. I soaked the lentils for about an hour and they were fine, not hard. I added some salt as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Very warm and filling. No strong flavors, but still satisfying and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Meh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
It was okay but maybe I just didn't do it right because the Lentils were a little hard while everything else was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States