Rice A Roni™ Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I just made this for this evening. I used earlier reviewers' suggestions: chopped red pepper and yellow squash, artichoke hearts, curry, toasted almonds which all are good. But that's a lot of changes to have to make. My disappointment is that if you follow the Rice-A-Roni directions to brown the rice and vermicelli in butter and then follow the cooking instructions of an additional 20-25 minutes with the seasoning pack and water, it's mushy. One earlier reviewer had said to cook it for only 15 minutes. Wished I had done that, or less. I cooked it 17 minutes and it's still sort of mushy. Either don't brown so much or really cut back on the total cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Wow, I didn't expect this to be so good. It mush be all the seasonings, etc. in the rice packet. It was fresh and had a great deal of excellent chicken flavor. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I did not have RiceARoni on hand, so I used Near East Rice Chicken flavor...same sort of thing. It came out great! The scallions I used were very strong, so it overpowered a little...but the taste was shockingly good anyway! Great summer dish - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJPasqua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was one of the first recipes I saved on this site in 2002, and I just now got around to making it. I'm telling you I wish I had made this a long time ago--it is excellent! I took the advice of the top reviewer and added diced red pepper, green onions, artichokes, water chestnuts, celery and cashews. I also added 1Tbs curry power and some of the artichoke juice to the mayo and it was great. My husband isnt a curry fan, but he loved this and even suggested adding a dash more next time. Very good! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I love the texture of this. I actually enjoy it warm a bit better I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I used chicken and mushroom boxed mix and I also added shrimp (thats what I had in the fridge) instead of chicken. It was a great way to use up a box of overlooked rice a roni but we were not wild about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I don't keep Rice-A-Roni at home only because I avoid it like the plague but I do have the Almond Rice Seasoning mix from this site, which is very similar. I used an organic brown rice and cooked the rice according to that recipe then let it cool. I then made the rice salad according to this recipe. I used low-fat mayo and added a bit more chopped celery. Next time, I might try to make this with more chopped veggies, like zucchini and carrots. Sturdy recipe as is. Using the spice mix and brown rice did make a sturdier salad. NOTE: You might want to undercook the rice just a bit. It will soak up the mayo and will become mushy. Fifteen minutes is about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I prefer this salad with a small jar of artichoke hearts instead of water chestnuts. There are lots of ways to add color and taste--pitted black olives, pimento-stuffed olives, halved cherry or grape tomatoes, and/or any bell pepper. I use 1/3 c mayo and 1-3 T reserved artichoke marinade. Any leftover poultry or shellfish can be used instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States