Rice A Roni™ Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Wow, I didn't expect this to be so good. It mush be all the seasonings, etc. in the rice packet. It was fresh and had a great deal of excellent chicken flavor. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I did not have RiceARoni on hand, so I used Near East Rice Chicken flavor...same sort of thing. It came out great! The scallions I used were very strong, so it overpowered a little...but the taste was shockingly good anyway! Great summer dish - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJPasqua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was one of the first recipes I saved on this site in 2002, and I just now got around to making it. I'm telling you I wish I had made this a long time ago--it is excellent! I took the advice of the top reviewer and added diced red pepper, green onions, artichokes, water chestnuts, celery and cashews. I also added 1Tbs curry power and some of the artichoke juice to the mayo and it was great. My husband isnt a curry fan, but he loved this and even suggested adding a dash more next time. Very good! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I love the texture of this. I actually enjoy it warm a bit better I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I used chicken and mushroom boxed mix and I also added shrimp (thats what I had in the fridge) instead of chicken. It was a great way to use up a box of overlooked rice a roni but we were not wild about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I don't keep Rice-A-Roni at home only because I avoid it like the plague but I do have the Almond Rice Seasoning mix from this site, which is very similar. I used an organic brown rice and cooked the rice according to that recipe then let it cool. I then made the rice salad according to this recipe. I used low-fat mayo and added a bit more chopped celery. Next time, I might try to make this with more chopped veggies, like zucchini and carrots. Sturdy recipe as is. Using the spice mix and brown rice did make a sturdier salad. NOTE: You might want to undercook the rice just a bit. It will soak up the mayo and will become mushy. Fifteen minutes is about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I prefer this salad with a small jar of artichoke hearts instead of water chestnuts. There are lots of ways to add color and taste--pitted black olives, pimento-stuffed olives, halved cherry or grape tomatoes, and/or any bell pepper. I use 1/3 c mayo and 1-3 T reserved artichoke marinade. Any leftover poultry or shellfish can be used instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was my first time trying/making rice salad. It turned out alright - I used less mayo than what was called for though. I'm on the fence about making this again - not because it tasted bad - just because it tasted strange to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States