Rice A Roni™ Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I just made this for this evening. I used earlier reviewers' suggestions: chopped red pepper and yellow squash, artichoke hearts, curry, toasted almonds which all are good. But that's a lot of changes to have to make. My disappointment is that if you follow the Rice-A-Roni directions to brown the rice and vermicelli in butter and then follow the cooking instructions of an additional 20-25 minutes with the seasoning pack and water, it's mushy. One earlier reviewer had said to cook it for only 15 minutes. Wished I had done that, or less. I cooked it 17 minutes and it's still sort of mushy. Either don't brown so much or really cut back on the total cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Wow, I didn't expect this to be so good. It mush be all the seasonings, etc. in the rice packet. It was fresh and had a great deal of excellent chicken flavor. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I did not have RiceARoni on hand, so I used Near East Rice Chicken flavor...same sort of thing. It came out great! The scallions I used were very strong, so it overpowered a little...but the taste was shockingly good anyway! Great summer dish - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJPasqua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was one of the first recipes I saved on this site in 2002, and I just now got around to making it. I'm telling you I wish I had made this a long time ago--it is excellent! I took the advice of the top reviewer and added diced red pepper, green onions, artichokes, water chestnuts, celery and cashews. I also added 1Tbs curry power and some of the artichoke juice to the mayo and it was great. My husband isnt a curry fan, but he loved this and even suggested adding a dash more next time. Very good! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I love the texture of this. I actually enjoy it warm a bit better I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I used chicken and mushroom boxed mix and I also added shrimp (thats what I had in the fridge) instead of chicken. It was a great way to use up a box of overlooked rice a roni but we were not wild about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I don't keep Rice-A-Roni at home only because I avoid it like the plague but I do have the Almond Rice Seasoning mix from this site, which is very similar. I used an organic brown rice and cooked the rice according to that recipe then let it cool. I then made the rice salad according to this recipe. I used low-fat mayo and added a bit more chopped celery. Next time, I might try to make this with more chopped veggies, like zucchini and carrots. Sturdy recipe as is. Using the spice mix and brown rice did make a sturdier salad. NOTE: You might want to undercook the rice just a bit. It will soak up the mayo and will become mushy. Fifteen minutes is about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I prefer this salad with a small jar of artichoke hearts instead of water chestnuts. There are lots of ways to add color and taste--pitted black olives, pimento-stuffed olives, halved cherry or grape tomatoes, and/or any bell pepper. I use 1/3 c mayo and 1-3 T reserved artichoke marinade. Any leftover poultry or shellfish can be used instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States