Rice & Beans (Haitian Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This is so good! I don't usually like Red Beans & Rice but I really like this. My local Walmart didn't have the scotch bonnet, he said to substitute a habanero, but I settled for a jalapeno, sliced & seeded and thrown in the pot. It is the perfect heat for us. I did soak my beans first (habit). This recipe was nice because I actually cooked the beans yesterday, put in fridge & finished tonight. Husband thought it was too "clovey" so I will use less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Used a 15 oz can of drained & rinsed kidney beans and reduced the amount of water to 1 1/2 cups and it was perfect! Used an African adobo spice mix which contains a bit more heat. Served with a roasted beer can jerk chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barney, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
this taste just like my mother's recipe! i never got it from her since she cooks from memory like most great mother chefs do!! the scotch bonnet pepper gave it the zip i needed and this recipe is adaptable to any beans. when i make it with black beans i use celery instead of shallots and it comes out great. thank you for this recipe. it will be a main staple in my home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
YUMMY! This surprised my Haitian parents and grandma. I made it to these specs just for fun - made me nervous at first because I'm used to making it a bit differently. It was DELICIOUS, TASTY, VERY EASY... Dad went back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETTYBE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
I'm not a big fan of Red Beans and Rice but this is something special. The cloves give it that extra flavor which made the house smell incrediable. My husband came home and that was the first thing he said, "what smells so good"? I didn't have the chili pepper so I used red pepper flakes just to give it a little heat. I also didn't have any parsley so I used dried and left it in. This recipe is something different then your plan old red beans and rice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
We really enjoyed this. I've never made rice and beans from scratch, so I followed the recipe exactly, except I used quinoa instead of rice (which required a little tweaking of the water/grain measurements). It was so easy! After it was finished, I added another tsp of adobo and chopped up half of the hot pepper for some extra heat. The flavor was so unique--the clove taste really came through. This dish is even good cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
It is similar to what my family has prepared for years so I give it a 4 because I think these seasonings will make it taste similar. Any red bean can be used (pinto, kidney, red), but the for the best red color in the rice I use red beans which are most similar to what we use at home. Also in order to get the red color of in the rice you have to start with dry beans instead of canned and cook the rice in the bean water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I made this with canned kidney beans, and I couldn't find Scotch bonnet peppers so I used two large jalapenos instead. I ended up adding a lot more Adobo seasoning - was glad I hadn't already added salt. I served it with sliced avocado as suggested. A nice easy and tasty meal. Thanks, La La!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This dish is way too hot! I've never used a scotch bonnet chile pepper before so didn't know what to expect. Don't know if we'll be able to eat it b/c of the spices...it smells good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Awesome! I come from a Haitian family and got used to my dad's cooking. However when I moved overseas, I cursed myself for not learning how to make on the most basic and beloved dishes in Haitian cuisine. This recipe taste just like my dad's, aunt and grandma's du riz colay and now I can make it for my little one. Delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States