Rice & Beans (Haitian Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was very delicious! It took some time to prep and make, but the results were DELICIOUS. The only changes I would make, there was ALOT of rice, could have fed alot of people, and the rice was really mushy. I would reduce the amount of water for this recipe. Other than that, add more spices, because the rice and water absorbs alot of it and i ended up having to salt my plate, but besides that YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nskyline115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Please provide more Haitian recipes - I have two adopted girls who need to taste some food from home. (One nick-named La La, by the way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I see a good potential in this recipe, but it is way, way too salty! I would recommend to start with half the salt and go from there. Can always add more, cant take it away though LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Excellent dish! I'd rather make it than buy it at a restaurant now :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
delicious! made this with brown rice no fresh spices(since i didnt have any at at the time) and with jalapeno. my husband and iboth loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Rice got a little mushy with so much water. I will make this again, but reduce water. Thanks for the recipe. Awesome with pickliz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Awesome! I come from a Haitian family and got used to my dad's cooking. However when I moved overseas, I cursed myself for not learning how to make on the most basic and beloved dishes in Haitian cuisine. This recipe taste just like my dad's, aunt and grandma's du riz colay and now I can make it for my little one. Delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Excellent! Made this when we had 2 other couples over and I was nervous it wouldn't turn out well but everyone absolutely loved it. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I think the make-or-break element here is the cloves. If you like cloves, then this is an excellent recipe. If you don't care for them they take over the dish. I went light on them and my family reacted strongly to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Love this dish. I used canned kidney beans and added them to the rice at the END. They are already cooked therefore any more cooking would be too much (as seen by other reviewers who used canned beans) which to me is the best/easiest way to make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States