Rice & Beans (Haitian Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I was expecting more of a Mexican style rice and beans, but was pleasantly surprised by the spice-filled "holiday" flavor that worked out perfect for the Christmas holiday. I didn't have ground cloves and tried to grind them myself, and I had to use dried thyme that I wasn't able to take out, so it was a little too spicy. I'd recommend less spice if you don't have fresh parsley and thyme, or ground cloves. But very delicious. I'd definitely make again. Would go well in a stuffed pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I must have done something wrong! After all the great reviews I was really excited about this dish, but after I cooked it, I just found that it was HOT, but flavorless. I could taste a hint of the cloves... but then just heat. Nothing else came through. I tried adding some tomatoes and other seasonings to give it more than "rice cooked in water" taste, but it didn't help. I ended up pitching the whole thing. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rantoul, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
My husbands new favorite, inexpensive and very healthy too. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
The kids and I loved the recipe...the hubby did not like it. He put ketchup on it. He said the ketchup made it palatable~Yuck~Now you see what I am working with =o) We served it at a pot luck and it was a big hit. Avocado and a dallop of sour cream are yummy additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This was really good! I left out the adobo because of dietary restrictions and the pepper because I was feeding it to my kids. It was good without being spicy, but my husband got out the hot sauce and that made the dish even better. Yum! This will be my go-to red beans and rice recipe from now on. And hopefully soon, we can find some gluten-free adobo sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
The family and I really didn't like this recipe and we love beans and rice. The flavor of cloves was really strong. We will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
very solid and near-authentic recipe. Great as a side for any meat dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
For a beans recipe, this is really good. I can't say I just want to make it very often, though. I used pinto beans because I can't have kidney. I used green onion for the shallot, took the advice to half the salt, and used a seeded jalepeno pepper for the bonnet chile pepper (couldn't find one.) For the Adabo seasoning I ground and made into a paste 1 clove garlic, 1/4 t oregano, 1/4 t peppercorns, 1/8 t paprika, 1/4 t salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Wonderful! The cloves make it. It is also good with cow peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I made this with canned kidney beans, and I couldn't find Scotch bonnet peppers so I used two large jalapenos instead. I ended up adding a lot more Adobo seasoning - was glad I hadn't already added salt. I served it with sliced avocado as suggested. A nice easy and tasty meal. Thanks, La La!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States