Rice & Beans (Haitian Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Wish I could give half a star. This would be a 3 1/2. We liked the flavor and level of spiciness but had some texture issues. Possibly my beans were extremely old because they did not cook evenly at all. When some were finally soft, the rest were mushy. Will try again after restocking the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I made this according to the directions. It didn't have much flavor. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Had rice at a Haitian cafe and really loved it; so I decided to make this recipie based on the good ratings but it was a disapointment. To start with, trying to cut time, I used low salt canned beans-my first mistake. They were softer texture than cooking dry beans from scratch, and in the end they were just way too soft. I took the advice of others and used 3 1/2c of liquid-the rice came out like mush (I used long grain white). AND THE SALT-WAY TOO MUCH!! Perhaps if I used dry beans the salt would have been appropriate, but certainly not with canned beans! I tried to save the dish by adding 1/2lb cooked, unseasoned hamburger as well as 1 cup additional plain cooked white rice, and its still much too salty. Overall I wasnt crazy about the flavorings either. The clove was ok, but a bit overwhelming, and I did use adobo seasoning, and I am just not impressed. Shallots were just not necessary either. Onions would have sufficed. Considering this recipie a failed attempt at good rice and beans. Perhaps I might try it again with 1 tsp salt and without the adobo seasoning, but its doubtful that I would even bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Haitian Rice & Beans Haiku: "There's too much liquid. I had to change a few things. Cloves make it special!" I used a can of drained, rinsed kidney beans instead of dry, and onions instead of shallot - I also browned 1/2 lb. smoked sausage w/ the onions and garlic for a carnivorous husband. I used 1/2 c. basmati to 1 3/4 c. water and it was still too liquid-ey upon serving. Despite having the scoop it w/ the slotted spoon, the taste was incredible! My only complaint though is wondering whether or not I have some super-human immunity to spice b/c the scotch bonnet didn't make this fiery at all. But ohhhhwow the smell, the cloves, the beans - this was a fantastic way to make a standard rice'n'bean bowl much more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made as recipe. turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellow_everest

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
It is similar to what my family has prepared for years so I give it a 4 because I think these seasonings will make it taste similar. Any red bean can be used (pinto, kidney, red), but the for the best red color in the rice I use red beans which are most similar to what we use at home. Also in order to get the red color of in the rice you have to start with dry beans instead of canned and cook the rice in the bean water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Good HEAVENS, this was good. I used 16 ounces of undrained red kidney beans, an onion instead of a shallot, and left out the chile pepper. Went a tiny bit scant on the Adobo and cloves, just to see for the first time, and it was perfectly spiced. Will definitely make it according to directions, but just wanted to use what I had on hand. Our whole family LOVED this--it's going in the family recipe box. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeccaBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
use only 3-4 cups bean liquid and it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
family loved it....almost as good as my Haitian mother in-law's rice..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
My boyfriend and his family are French Caribbean (Haiti). I made this for them one evening, and they LOVED IT!!! It brought smiles to their faces:) And gave me a so much praise for attempting it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlysiaVanCamp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States