Ricardo's Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I'm sorry Ricardo, but as written this is not what I was expecting. 1st of all TOO MUCH SUGAR! Way too sweet...does not go with the savory flavors of the added garlic and herbs. Secondly, NOT ENOUGH FLOUR! We spent a good 15 minutes trying to get the sticky dough out of the bread machine pan. It did puff up quite a bit during baking so my advice is to roll thinLy unless you like a lot of dough with your pizza. I wouldn't mind trying this again with a fraction of the sugar and another cup or 2 of flour. EDIT: I read over the other reviews and am now questioning that maybe I did something wrong in the crust making process. That and the kids enjoyed their pizza. Okay...one more star. I guess maybe it was a personal taste thing. Still think it was way too sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5THSISTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This was amazing! We have been using another very popular pizza crust recipe from this site, but this one just stole the spot. Flavorful, and fluffy, all you want in a pizza crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I love the taste of the herbs in this. I reduced the sugar by 1 tbs. but would either reduce more or leave it out completely next time. It yielded two pizzas. The only thing is that my oven is electric... I don't know why but even though I set the timer for only 12 minutes the first one burned. The second one was better. We liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Helen
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This crust was delicious! I was able to put lot of toppings without the dough getting soggy like some of the other pizza dough recipes I've tried from here. The dough rises very nicely to give a thick crispy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This pizza dough recipe is the BEST recipe I have ever made. I have made it sooo many times. It is very easy to modify: sometimes I use 1 cup of Whole Wheat flour instead of all White flour, sometimes I omit the spices and have a plain crust, sometimes...well you get the idea! It is an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess of her Castle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Great dough recipe! We had it with homemade pesto (frozen from last summer), ground turkey and goat cheese. I substituted one cup of whole wheat flour and added a couple extra tablespoons of bread flour (the dough was looking very wet in the machine). 2 garlic cloves did it for me, and I'd agree the sugar could easily be cut down to 1-2 tablespoons. Very nice and herb-y. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This is the best pizza ever! My husband and 10 year old daughter tell me it is the best pizza they have ever eaten and always ask me to make it for them. No more delivery for us! I usually make it with a sautted onion and oregano topping, mozzarella and black olives. It´s our family favorite. When my daughter´s friends invite her for dinner and their moms make pizza, she tells them I make the best pizza ever. The moms always ask for the recipe and after trying it, they all agree! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
My favorite pizza dough recipe. Easy to adjust spices to taste. And if you replace 1/4 cup of the flour with white corn meal it gives the crust a bit more crispness. My families favorite addition to the dough is sliced garlic cloves (2-3 cloves is plenty garlickey with out being overwhelming).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Very good crust. Soft and chewy, but a little sweet for my taste. I'd cut the sugar to only 1-2 Tbsp. Also, I had to add extra flour because it was extremely sticky. Everybody liked it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is the first pizza base recipe I have tried to make from scratch in my bread machine and it was so easy to do, won't try another. Cut the sugar down to 1.5 tablespoons as recommended and didn't find it too sweet but made the crusts tasty. Also used 6g yeast as that is the size packets you get here in the UK, rose well. Topped with the sauce from the "Pizza Sauce and Dough" recipe, mozzarella, chili peppers and mixed veggies which worked really well. Came out slightly soggy in the centre of the base using a baking (cookie?) tray so have invested in a pizza stone and will blind bake for 5-8 mins prior to topping. Brushed the edges with olive oil before baking and came out lovely, golden and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States