Ribboned Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
You won't be sorry if you try this recipe. It is AMAZING! I first made it because during my pregnancy, I was craving chocolate. This is the only thing that curbed it. I did follow a fellow reviewers advice: I added 2-3 TBS cocoa and subbed chilled, strong coffee to the cake batter. I also used a double batch of "Satiny Chocolate Glaze" and it is HEAVENLY! I used Baking Pam for the pan and won't make that mistake again - it did not turn loose from the pan well. I've since made it several more times; greasing and flouring the bundt pan and it turns out beautifully. I've made it for a ladies function and for a friends bridal shower and have had several requests for the recipe. I only wish I could say it was mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
My mother asks for this cake every year for her birthday. It is one of the best cakes I've ever had. Not too sweet. I have a paper copy of the recipe with chocolate glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsrahal
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This is sooooo good! It really is magic! I really don't write reviews but this deserves it! 5 stars for SURE! It's one of my favorites! Am
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I made this today but I made a homemade chocolate box cake. It turned out perfectly. The topping is excellent and so different. I will be definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
OMG we all loved this cake! I live in a high-altitude area so I added a couple Tbs powdered cocoa in lieu of flour to the batter, and used leftover coffee from breakfast in place of water. The ribbon came out just like the pic, it was sooo impressive! Topped with a simple chocolate glaze. By all means, serve with a big glass of cold milk. My husband said this was quite possibly the best cake I have ever made, and I've been baking since I was a child. (PS - I not only used a non-stick Bundt pan, but also then sprayed it with Baker's Joy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebinNM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canastota, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I loved the way the cake looked when it was done and cut. I didn't care for the taste. Very similar to something store bought. I like dessert to taste amazing and this wasn't it. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This looked so good. I tried it the day after I saved it. Disappointing. I used a devils food cake - Duncan Hines. I followed the directions exactly. I guess I should have used the bigger bundt pan. The cake went a little bit over the top. The cake itself was dry. I won't be making this again. I have an old recipe that is quite similar, but you drop the cream cheese mixture over the cake batter in a 9x13. Better distributes the mixture throughout the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I had planned to make this one evening, got out all the ingredients and prepared the pan, when I got sidelined with something else. My green in the kitchen husband discovered the recipe on the computer, and I was greeted with a beautiful and delicious cake 90 minutes later! So, simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
3.5 stars actually. This cake was good, but seeing that it is made from a boxed mix it doesn't rate any higher. The cream cheese layer is very tasty and the "Satiny Glaze" recipe from this site is always perfect. Like others I used coffee in place of the water and some unsweetened cocoa to give a deeper chocolate flavor (a well known trick) which helped the 'boxed' flavor, but I think I might have to retry this recipe with a 'from scratch' chocolate cake to give it the 5 stars I think it could earn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Good dessert, but I have another filling recipe I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States