Ribbon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by FUN4REGINA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This was a hit at a dessert banquet. I lightly sprayed my pan with cooking spray and it didn't stick at all. I followed another users suggestion to wait to make the milk until ready to use, and I wish I hadn't done that, because it needed some time to set up. Also, I didn't think it would need refrigeration after the white layer, just the jello, but I was wrong there too. The two times I didn't cool it, the white and color mixed. I waited to make each jello until I was ready to use it, then I dissolved my jello in 1c. of hot water, then added 1/2c. ice water to make it quick set, then fridge for 30-40 minutes, and that worked wonderfully. Even with mistakes, it looked great and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I used red and blue jello for this salad to make a red, white and blue salad on the Fourth of July. Everyone loved it. Tasty and festive. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssschwingg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cartagena, Bolivar, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
This recipe is poorly written. Where does the vanilla go? Do NOT make the layers as the recipe suggests. Wait to prepare them until right before needed, otherwise they set while waiting their turn in their bowls. Each layer takes approximately 1 hour, so I also recommend that you make the milk mixture right before the first layer sets or it will sit out for hours beforehand, which can't be very good considering it's mainly sour cream and milk. The mold itself is really good. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Thank You! Thank You! Have been looking for the correct recipe for this old family favorite for a lonnnnnng time! Everyone will be happy this Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
This recipe was OK but not a favorite of ours. Didn't know where to use the vanilla extract but assumed it should have gone with the milk mixture. Very nice looking dessert, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
I made this for a Family Reunion and every one said it was A HIT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
This was very good, a jello that my kids will actually eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
I made this yesterday. My toddler loved it. My husband liked it. My advice is put the flavor you least like in the bottom because it sticks in the bottom (but not too bad!). When you mix the unflavored gelatin with the water, dissolve it well cause it could form tiny little balls of gelatin. I used a mixer to mix the sour cream, milk and gelatin. If you are a jello fan, this is the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
Very pretty and easy salad. Looks like you have gone to a lot of trouble. Made it for a church dinner. Everyone loved this recipe including the kids. It has already been requested to be made for the next church dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
A very pretty, colorful salad that will attract lots of attention. I made it today and I just tried a piece. I think most kids would like this salad. Its unique, tasty, with no exotic flavors. I will be making this for church and family functions. Thanks Stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States