Ribbon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I have been making this for years and it is always a hit, especially when children are at the occasion. I have a different set of directions, that may help some people. Here they are: FIRST LAYER: Dissolve 1 package Jello in 1 cup boiling water for 3 minutes, stirring often. Add 1/2 cup cold water. (I put ice cubes in the water, stir, remove the ice and measure out the 1/2 cup) Slowly pour Jello into buttered glass dish. Refrigerate for 1 hour. Start white layer immediately. WHITE LAYER: Bring 2 cups milk to boil over low heat. Add sugar and stir until completely dissolved. Dissolve Knox gelatin in 1/2 cup cold water; add to sugar and milk. Stir. Pour into blender or food processor. Add sour cream and vanilla. Blend until smooth. Let cool. If it should get too thick as you are making the salad, you can try re-blending. If that doesn’t work, you can warm it gently. However, I have never had a problem. I just stir it each time I need to measure some out. If you do need to re-warm, make sure it cools before you pour it onto a jello layer. After the first layer of jello has been in the refrigerator for one hour AND is firm, spoon (1 1/2 cups) of white layer (make sure it is no longer warm) slowly onto Jello layer. Let set in refrigerator for 30 minutes. Alternate layers allowing 45 minutes of chilling in the refrigerator for jello layers (after first layer) and 30 minutes for white layers. HINT: When I pour a white layer on, I immediately start a new flavor of jello,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is definately a keeper, it really adds color to the table. I just wanted to add, that the vanilla goes in the milk and sugar mixture. A member had commented on the instructions not being clear. i made this in 3 1/2 hours. i made all the jellos right after another, i didn't wait 30 minutes in between making jellos as suggested. I just left the jellos on the kitchen counter. They didn't set after three hours. I put the first layer in the freezer for 15 minutes, to get a jump start on it setting quicker. Then, poured in the pan. I let it set 30 minutes in fridge before pouring the white layer. 15 Minutes before i was to pour the next layer, i repeated putting the layer in the freezer for 15 minutes. I noticed the white layers took longer to set. I waited 45 minutes after pouring white layer. i repeated this ritual, till all layers were poured. This took me about 3.5 hours, it was ready to eat 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is a salad I made for Thanksgiving for neice and nephew. It is so pretty! My mom says she has tasted them in the past with cool whip and cream cheese. Does any on know how to make that one?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUN4REGINA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This was a hit at a dessert banquet. I lightly sprayed my pan with cooking spray and it didn't stick at all. I followed another users suggestion to wait to make the milk until ready to use, and I wish I hadn't done that, because it needed some time to set up. Also, I didn't think it would need refrigeration after the white layer, just the jello, but I was wrong there too. The two times I didn't cool it, the white and color mixed. I waited to make each jello until I was ready to use it, then I dissolved my jello in 1c. of hot water, then added 1/2c. ice water to make it quick set, then fridge for 30-40 minutes, and that worked wonderfully. Even with mistakes, it looked great and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I used red and blue jello for this salad to make a red, white and blue salad on the Fourth of July. Everyone loved it. Tasty and festive. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnna Ellingsen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cartagena, Bolivar, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
This recipe is poorly written. Where does the vanilla go? Do NOT make the layers as the recipe suggests. Wait to prepare them until right before needed, otherwise they set while waiting their turn in their bowls. Each layer takes approximately 1 hour, so I also recommend that you make the milk mixture right before the first layer sets or it will sit out for hours beforehand, which can't be very good considering it's mainly sour cream and milk. The mold itself is really good. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Thank You! Thank You! Have been looking for the correct recipe for this old family favorite for a lonnnnnng time! Everyone will be happy this Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
This recipe was OK but not a favorite of ours. Didn't know where to use the vanilla extract but assumed it should have gone with the milk mixture. Very nice looking dessert, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
I made this for a Family Reunion and every one said it was A HIT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
This was very good, a jello that my kids will actually eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States