Ribbon Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
This is exactly the same recipe given to me by my mother-in-law, only without the addition of the cheese. For a variation, I highly recommend shaping the loaf "free form" on a foil-lined broiler pan, and lay slices of bacom horizontally across the top and sides, tucking the ends under the loaf. The bacon really makes this meatloaf delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
My kids love cheese inside their meatloaf, so I've used several types. Mozarella in the center with marinara sauce covering the top of the loaf is a nice italian version. Pepper jack and enchilada sauce makes it a little mexican. You can let your imagination go wild. Try ham and swiss and cover top with cream of mushroom soup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2001
I have made this recipe alot!! My family loves it, I would never make a different meatloaf after having found this recipe, I share this recipe with friends and family alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I absolutely loved this meatloaf! I don't like traditional meatloaves with ketchup, so this was a refreshing change. The cheese ribbon tasted too much like just bread to me, so next time I will leave it out but the meat was so flavorful and delicious I will keep making it. A keeper for sure. Would have been a five star without the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I used only beef since we raise beef cows and have ample supply. Husband and I really liked it. 8-year-old daughter hated the "stuff" in the middle even after I explained that it was cheese. Usually in her opinion everything is better with cheese on it but it was a no go. Will make it again but not extend the ribbon to the end for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
we didn't care much for this meatloaf, it was too unusual for our taste. my adult son liked it better smothered in catsup. sorry maureen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was delicious and super filling. They are not lying when they say it takes two hours, so leave yourself some extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Not my favorite meatloaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This was delicious. My husband even went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I really liked the cheese filling, although I didn't care too much for the meatloaf itself....but I'm thinking I'm just not a meatloaf person. My husband is and he liked it quite a bit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States