Rhubarb Upside Down Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
I gave this recipe 4 stars only because I changed a lot of things in it but the end result was definitely 5 stars! Here's what I did. I put in 2 cups of rhubarb with 3 cups of crushed pineapple. I did NOT put in marshmallows. I used the reserved pineapple juice in the cake mix instead of water. I have 4 kids (8 years old and younger) who loved this recipe. They loved the red glaze on top. And had me make it for their slumber party. 2 of the kids at the party told me they hated rhubarb but loved my cake. I'm definitely going to do this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I have this recipe and just tried it out a week ago....tastes great. What I did different on mine was first arrange chopped rhubarb in pan, then mix jello (I used sugar free raspberry)with the sugar, sprinkle that over the rhubarb, then sprinkle the marshmallows over that evenly, then spread the cake batter. After baking, COOL for 10 minutes, then run your knife around the edges and invert onto a foil covered cookie sheet (or whatever you plan to use). Then I covered mine with Saran Wrap and placed it in the fridge to cool completely. Serve cold and store it in the refrigerator! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This cake is an awesome use of rhubarb! Both my husband and I loved it! I used sugar-free gelatin (instead of regular) and a white cake mix (instead of the yellow), but it still turned out great! I was amazed that you couldn't even tell there were marshmallows in the recipe. For some it may be a bit tart, but I thought it was a perfect mix of sugar and rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Prasnicki Beck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Bay, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This recipe has been in my family for years...Everyone LOVES it! I use raspberry jello, if I don't have strawberry, and it is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Excellent way to use rhubarb beside just pie. A little sweet for my taste, next time I'll use just 1/2 cup sugar. The upside down part is nice and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
This cake was great! You can't let it cool before serving, though unless you hide it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
My ex-mother-in-law used to make this cake and I'd been searching for 10 years for a similar recipe. This was it!! I'm thrilled to be able to enjoy this wonderful (and easy!) cake again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beatrice, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Daykin, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
This recipe is fantastic, in texture, & taste. The only problem I had was it was too big for an 13x9 pan & I couldn't turn it out as it was too juicy. YUMMY fo the TUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Followed recipe exactly, and although this was delicious, I will put about a quarter of the the sugar next time as this was far too sweet for me and the rhubarb flavour was kind of lost in the sweetness (kids loved it though). I think just a small amount of sugar with the gelatin and marshmallows would make it sweet enough. Really nice cake though and will definitely make it again soon!, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I just made this recipe this weekend and it was a total hit with my guests. Everyone even needed to take home the recipe. I used frozen rhubarb I had from last spring. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States