Rhubarb Upside Down Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mamacook
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Good cake, but wish it had a more rhubarb taste. I followed the recipe exactly, but only baked it 50 minutes. Next time I will cut back on the sugar and marshmallows and add some red food coloring as the rhubarb turned pale when cooked. Everyone else loved it and I served it with vanilla ice cream. I prefer the rhubarb crisp by Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I tried this recipe because it sounded interesting and unique, and I wasn't disappointed. I used about 7 cups rhubarb and the whole cup of sugar. It wasn't overly sweet at all. I thought a 9x13-inch pan would be too small, so I used an 11x15-inch pan, but I should have used a smaller pan. It was done in 33 minutes in my convection oven. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Really good very tart needs ice cream or whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe stated and it was very yummy. Just the right combo of sweet and tart. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
this was super good! would not change anything. note: dont peel your rhubarb before baking it as i did from advice from a friend. it tastes the same, but looks really very unappealing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was a big hit with my family. Will definitely make again. Didn't need to cook quite as long as called for in the recipe. Good use for older, hard marshmallows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Came out great! I used slightly less sugar, but otherwise just the same. I also didn't invert it just to make it easier and it was still wonderful that way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is by far the best! I did add some fresh strawberries from the garden and it was great!! I did not need to cook it as long as suggested though. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I took this to a dinner party and it was a hit. Everyone liked it. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I used a spice cake mix instead of yellow and strawberry flavored marshmellows with 2/3 cup of sugar in the rhubarb. This was a big hit by all. Very simple recipe to follow. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States