Rhubarb Surprise Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
This is great, I'll be making this again many times. I added 1/4 cup chopped walnuts to the crust, increased the rhubarb to 4 cups & added an extra TBSP milk in the crust. I have a rhubarb plant that is an over achiver and am always looking for new GOOD rhubarb recipes. This one fits the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Too much sugar sitting on top, though my husband liked the crunch because he didn't know it was a cup of sugar. Don't think I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
This is a SURPRISE!!! Lots of raves and oohs and ahhs. Used a 10" pie plate - had 5 cups of rhubarb so used it all - It turned out just super - sure will be making again and again.A little Ice cream or whip cream added on top just hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
My neighbor grows rhubarb and gave me some to use. I made this pie and shared it with him. I did use almost 5 cups of rhubarb as suggested and did use some brown sugar for the topping instead of all white. Also added the walnuts as suggested. Very very good! Served it with vanilla ice cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camessana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Great recipe. Just make sure you use the 3 cups of rhubarb (could use up to 3 1/2 if wanted to), or you won't have alot of filling to equal with the crust. I used frozen rhubarb that i had put in the freezer, came out fine. My father loved it and hubby who isn't fond of rhubarb liked it too!!. I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
maybe it was too warm but I had to roll the pie crust out between plastic wrap. The topping stirred into a batter and I added oatmeal to obtain crumble texture. Still the gelatin kick was a hit flavour with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peppi2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I thought this made an excellant pie and was simple to make. Very tasty. I will make it again, since I grow my own rhubard Joan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
It was great to see this recipe. I received the recipe from my mom's neighbor 30 years ago and have never seen it in print since that time!! It's been a family favorite for all these years, and every time I take it to a gathering it is also a hit. Thanks for submitting it for others to see. I've added other fresh berries along with with rhubarb which is also great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
The recipe was easy to make, but could use a little more sugar. Also, I would prefer a flakier crust. I think it would be really good with maybe 1/4 to 1/3 c. sugar added with the jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This was really good! Everyone loved it, and both neighbors wanted the recipe. A really easy recipe with excellant taste. I did add 1/4 cup of sugar in with the strawberry jello mixed to combine all then poured into the crust. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States