Rhubarb Surprise Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Won't make again. Not as good as other rhubarb crisps. Crust tasted salty. I did add just half the sugar and twice the rhubarb, but it was still too sweet for my taste. I just didn't like the fake taste of the jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
maybe it was too warm but I had to roll the pie crust out between plastic wrap. The topping stirred into a batter and I added oatmeal to obtain crumble texture. Still the gelatin kick was a hit flavour with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peppi2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I thought this made an excellant pie and was simple to make. Very tasty. I will make it again, since I grow my own rhubard Joan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Too much sugar sitting on top, though my husband liked the crunch because he didn't know it was a cup of sugar. Don't think I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
It was great to see this recipe. I received the recipe from my mom's neighbor 30 years ago and have never seen it in print since that time!! It's been a family favorite for all these years, and every time I take it to a gathering it is also a hit. Thanks for submitting it for others to see. I've added other fresh berries along with with rhubarb which is also great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This was really good! Everyone loved it, and both neighbors wanted the recipe. A really easy recipe with excellant taste. I did add 1/4 cup of sugar in with the strawberry jello mixed to combine all then poured into the crust. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
My neighbor grows rhubarb and gave me some to use. I made this pie and shared it with him. I did use almost 5 cups of rhubarb as suggested and did use some brown sugar for the topping instead of all white. Also added the walnuts as suggested. Very very good! Served it with vanilla ice cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camessana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
This was good. The crust is very much like shortbread rather than traditional pie crust, but that's OK. I used raspberry jello instead of strawberry because that's what I had on hand. It was a bit overwhelming, but overall we did enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
This is great, I'll be making this again many times. I added 1/4 cup chopped walnuts to the crust, increased the rhubarb to 4 cups & added an extra TBSP milk in the crust. I have a rhubarb plant that is an over achiver and am always looking for new GOOD rhubarb recipes. This one fits the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Great recipe. Just make sure you use the 3 cups of rhubarb (could use up to 3 1/2 if wanted to), or you won't have alot of filling to equal with the crust. I used frozen rhubarb that i had put in the freezer, came out fine. My father loved it and hubby who isn't fond of rhubarb liked it too!!. I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States