Rhubarb Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
one of the first jellys i have ever tried to make. super easy! I used food processor so i didnt have to wait overnight. Recipe yielded 5 half pint jars for me. Very sweet! but my kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
VERY SWEET! DOES HAVE A JELLO TASTE TO IT. I WAS DISAPPOINTED. FIND A RECIPE THAT ACTUALLY HAS STRAWBERRIES IN IT. THERE ARE OTHERS THAT ARE JUST AS SIMPLE. IF YOU CHOOSE TO MAKE THIS CUT WAY BACK ON THE SUGAR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I got a ton of Grandma's homegrown rhubarb so I put some of it to use with this recipe. Super simple and quite a bit cheaper and perhaps healthier than storebought jam. I did cut the sugar down to a cup and a half and I used SF jello. I know it sounds silly when I used sugar, but it's all I had on hand. I did add a tbsp of lemon juice and tsp. of vanilla extract but other than that, I followed the recipe and directions exactly. I love how easy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is the easiest best rhubarb jam. I add a cup of strawberries, and a cup of blueberries. I have people returning jars and looking for more. I was lucky to have a friend who keeps getting rhubarb all summer long in her organic garden. I have also tried it with splenda. I use 6 ounces of strawberry gelatin when using more fruit. No matter which way I make it , it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Turned out nicely. My husband and son said they didn't know the strawberry flavor was from jello. It tasted good but I think next time I will throw a few strawberries in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Really good, but super sweet...I did as others recommended and used 6 cups of rhubarb and only 2.5 cups of sugar but it is still really sweet. I think that next time I will add less jello mix and add in some fresh strawberries. It was my first time making jam, so it was a good starting point:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This is very easy to make!! Came out a little too sweet with the 3 cups of sugar and the strawberry really covered up the rhubarb taste so my suggestion for rhubarb fans is add 6 cups of rhubarb and keep sugar still at 3 cups. To answer another posters question..I leave it sit out of the refrigerator overnight before cooking the next morning so that the juices come out of the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Zuch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
YUM! This is so SO good. I know, it sounds a little weird getting the strawberry flavor from Jello, but trust me when I say that you'll want to eat it with a spoon! It's SO good. I used 8 cups rhubarb, 4 cups sugar. Next time I'll use less sugar. It made 8 8oz jars which I canned, processing for 10 minutes. And the best part is that you could use any combination with this recipe. The doors are open!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadkins77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
OMG! This was so good and so easy. My God daughter asked for it for her b-day. I canned it for longer storage and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Definatley one of the best jams I have ever had. I did take the advice of many people and cut down on the sugar a bit. I used 2 3/4 cups. My first thought was jam is supposed to be sweet. The decrease in sugar lets the tangy flavor of the rubarb come through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States