Rhubarb Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Good, strong rhubarb taste. I did add a handful of strawberries into the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I also doubled this recipe and cut the sugar down to 5 cups. Tasted amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAZMOMMY
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Wanted a jam that was a bit tangy. So I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and added an extra cup of the rhubarb and a bit extra jell-o. I also prepared it for regular canning, boiled it on high instead of low. Turned out perfect. I ended up with 6 half pint jars. I don't think that it will last very long around our household. This is the best! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I prefer things less sweet so after reading the reviews I cut the sugar down to 2 1/2 cups, increased the rhubarb to 6 cups (cause I had tons of fresh rhubarb on hand). I also threw in some strawberries - about 1/2 c sliced - that I had on hand. This turned out VERY sweet even with the changes and no taste of rhubarb at all. Nice color though. Tasted much like strawberry jelly!! I will keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWQPYED

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kerrobert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I make this all the time.......I cut my rhubarb, and freeze it....and then when I need jam I make it....I do add a little cinnamon to this...I have given as gifts at Christmas....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb from Northfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I make this every year and it is delicious! I double the recipe and it makes 4 1/2 pints of jam. Use 12 c. chopped rhubarb, 5 c. sugar and a 6 oz. package of strawberry jello. Try Wild Strawberry if you can find it. You do not need to let it sit overnight. Just cook the rhubarb and sugar until tender. I like to water bath can it for shelf stability. Put jars in your canner in hot water, bring to simmer and simmer uncovered 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Really great rhubarb flavour! We thought that letting the sugar and rhubarb sit overnight was totally unnecessary, so we let the sugar sit on the rhubarb for a couple of hours to get juicy, then started boiling on really low. Boiled for about an hour, until the rhubarb was broken and jammy consistency. Added jello, put in jars, and let cool. It's great! We also thought 3 cups of sugar was a bit over-the-top, so used only 2. Next time may use only 1.5 cups. Awesome and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Fantastic. I too canned this jam. I increased rhubarb to 6 cups and lowered sugar to 2 1/2 cups. Processed in boiling water for 10 minutes. Superb recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This is the recipe I use every year. My mom gave it to me, and she got it from my dad's Aunt. The best jam recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanore McTrowe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Fort Macleod, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
kids absolutely loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States