Rhubarb Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I have used this recipe for a while - not sure where I got it but I double it and I don't let it stand overnight. I cook it on low until the sugar dissolves and then boil it for about a half an hour or until the rhubarb is soft. When heat processed this will store for about a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
easy, one pot jam. This made one container for my fridge and one for the freezer. It was too sweet for me, even though I reduced the sugar. And it it tasted too strongly of jello - couldn't really taste the rhubarb at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Incredibly easy and surprisingly good. only had 3 cups of rhubarb so used 1 1/2 cups sugar and 1/2 pkg jello. Made 2 8-oz jelly jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I know its late in the season but I used rhubarb from my garden to make this jam. I only had 2 1/2 cups rhubarb from my 1 plant so I used only half the recipe. Also, I processed the jam so I could put most of it in my 1 remaining jelly jar and have the rest for breakfast tomorrow. For the processing, I hard boiled the sugar, rhubarb, and 4/5 box of pectin for about 5 minutes and let simmer for an additional 7 minutes then added 1.5 oz gelatin. I put everything in a sterile jar, put lid and band on, and water bath for 10 minutes. The pectin and gelatin probably wasn't necessary but I read reviewers state it had a runny consistency and I wanted a harder jam. All in all, the jam was really sweet so I'll have to decrease the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This was very yummy, I used more as a sauce in my oatmeal and on ice cream than as a jam. When making it, I used one cup sugar, one cup sugar substitute, and sugar-free jello. (Maybe that made a difference in the consistancy. Not sure.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
easy to make and quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
You can also add a cup of drained crushed pineapple to this recipe. I have made this for years and everyone loves it.The pineapple makes it taste like real strawberries in the jam. It does not taste like pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Kapp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This is the second summer that I have made this recipe. All our family and friends ask us if we have any extra jars...it has become a favorite for all. I add strawberries, but that is the only addition I have made to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This recipe is soooo quick and easy. Like some I used 8 cups of rhubarb with the 3 cups sugar. It is well worth the effort. Thanks Sally for the recipe. This was my first try at jam. I've made about 4 batches and everyone loved it. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
So easy, so awesome! Had rhubarb coming out of my ears and this recipe solved two problems: what to do with the rhubard and what to give for teacher gifts. Gave it to my two daughters' school teachers and dance teachers and everyone loved it. Even my mother-in-law, who is a cook and a canner, raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States