Rhubarb Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Wonderful! My husband and kids cannot get enough of it. I followed other reviews and decreased the sugar as well as using only 3/4 of the jellow so it tasted more tart from the rhubarb! I also pureed the rhubarb as my husband loves the taste of it but hates the stringy texture! I've made this many times this summer and have a freezer full of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
The jello made the jam lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wolf Point, Montana, USA
Living In: Ephrata, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Very good, but definitely reduce the sugar. I, too, added some fresh strawberries to the cooking pot, after the rhubarb had been cooking awhile. I doubled the recipe, using 12 cups of rhubarb and 5 cups of sugar and that was plenty sweet. I got twelve one-cup jars (which will be great for gifts) and almost 2 cups leftover for my own fridge. I did process them for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Melin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Everyone in my house loves this jam. I make it as often as I can pick the rhubarb off our plant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Real Food Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I have used this recipe for a while - not sure where I got it but I double it and I don't let it stand overnight. I cook it on low until the sugar dissolves and then boil it for about a half an hour or until the rhubarb is soft. When heat processed this will store for about a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
easy, one pot jam. This made one container for my fridge and one for the freezer. It was too sweet for me, even though I reduced the sugar. And it it tasted too strongly of jello - couldn't really taste the rhubarb at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Incredibly easy and surprisingly good. only had 3 cups of rhubarb so used 1 1/2 cups sugar and 1/2 pkg jello. Made 2 8-oz jelly jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I know its late in the season but I used rhubarb from my garden to make this jam. I only had 2 1/2 cups rhubarb from my 1 plant so I used only half the recipe. Also, I processed the jam so I could put most of it in my 1 remaining jelly jar and have the rest for breakfast tomorrow. For the processing, I hard boiled the sugar, rhubarb, and 4/5 box of pectin for about 5 minutes and let simmer for an additional 7 minutes then added 1.5 oz gelatin. I put everything in a sterile jar, put lid and band on, and water bath for 10 minutes. The pectin and gelatin probably wasn't necessary but I read reviewers state it had a runny consistency and I wanted a harder jam. All in all, the jam was really sweet so I'll have to decrease the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This was very yummy, I used more as a sauce in my oatmeal and on ice cream than as a jam. When making it, I used one cup sugar, one cup sugar substitute, and sugar-free jello. (Maybe that made a difference in the consistancy. Not sure.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
easy to make and quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States