Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Outstanding. Make sure the rhubarb is cut small enough to cook. The recipe was wonderful as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Added a bit more of the crunch ingredients, and did mixed berries instead of strawberries. Superb either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
My fiancée who hates rhubarb looked like he was going to cry after I told him the next morning that I took the leftovers with me to work (so we didn't consume all the calories). I used less sugar than what was called for and rhubarb out of the garden. Wouldn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I have made this twice and am obsessed with this recipe! The first time I made it, I followed to the T. I made the topping by mixing everything with my fingers and it came out almost dumpling like but was very tasty. The second time, I used whole wheat flour instead of white, and pulsed the whole thing in my food processor. I also used about 2 TBL less of butter and added 1/2 cup blueberries. When pulsed in the food processor, the topping is more crumbly but I felt like it was too much and would make only half. I also added the zest of one whole lemon - made it sweet and tangy at the same time. This recipe is a must make in the spring if you like rhubarb as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I made this today and overall it is a great recipe though I altered a few things based on other reviews: I halved the crunchy topping and it is definitely more than enough after doing so, though next time I would reduce the butter at least by half. I also reduced the amount of sugar to 3/4 of a cup and this was still TOO sweet, next time I will reduce the sugar by half or even more, maybe 1/3 cup even. Lastly, I upped the flour to 5 tbsp as I like a thicker filling. A great base recipe that can easily be altered based on your own likes/dislikes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristaluvaaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This smells and tastes amazing! Like some other reviewers, I increased the amount of both the strawberries and rhubarb to 4 cups each and decreased the white sugar to 3/4 cup. Also, it's not necessary to try and cut the cold butter into the dry ingredients. You will get the same result if you mix the dry ingredients, pour it over the fruit, and cut the butter into pats and lay them evenly on top of the crumble mixture. It's a lot easier. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This was just a fruit crisp. If you have a favorite fruit crisp recipe then just use that. I can't rate this higher because I followed the directions of other reviewers and agree that I cannot see how the original recipe could have worked. I added a small amount of cinnamon but if I were to make it again I would add lots of cinnamon and nutmeg and maybe grind up some pecans to jazz up the topping. This was good but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Yum! I read the reviews and saw there was too much crunch so I tried to put some on the bottom of my pan. I used a glass pan, and the crunch stuck a bit. Overall, the taste was superb. I will definitely make this again, but tweak it a bit to better portion the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Tried this last night on the bbq. After grilling steaks and shrimp, we left the grill on low and put the 9x13 pan on the top rack/indirect heat while we ate. After 45 minutes (at about 350 degrees)the crisp was perfect, and done just in time! I followed reviewer's recipe which raised the quantities of fruit to 4 cups each and flour to 5 tbs. I sprinkled the top with a bit of cinnamon too! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 643) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States