Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is a great recipe. Simple, straight-forward and comes out awesome every single time. It's no fail! Feel free to experiment with different summer fruits...rhubarb, strawberry of course...but blackberries, blueberries, raspberries can also be added along with, to make up the 6+ cups of fruit. I didn't have quite enough rhubarb in my garden to make up 3 cups, so I improvised with other berries and the results were fantastic. Simply the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I did not have enough strawberries, so I supplemented them with blueberries. Delicious! I also cut the butter by 1/4 and used dark brown sugar rather than light and it was fine. As others mentioned this is a LOT of topping! I would at least double the fruit for a better crumble-fruit ratio. Unless you're like me and you're mostly there for the crumble, not the fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khakitang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I like my desserts less sweet so I used half the white sugar with the fruit. Other than some ground flax and sub 1/2c white for Brown sugar the rest was as written. I baked on the warming tray (is that what it is called?) In my bbq. I liked the filling but found the topping did not crisp up very well, was thick and too floury for my tasre, I prefer more of an oatmeal consistency. I might try again but use less flour, more oatmeal, snd less topping altogether. It did taste fine warm with ice cream just not a re-do as-is for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Awesome recipe! I added raspberries too, which only added to the deliciousness. Halving the crumble topping is a good idea; will do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this for a 4th of July party. My relatives loved it! I made 1/2 the topping mixture after reading others reviews. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is perfect, easy, can feed a lot of the neighborhood and will get five stars at the State Fair with vanilla ice cream on top. This is better than pie (and easier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
My family LOVED this recipe! My husband, who is not big on sweets, said it's the best rhubarb dish he's ever tasted. This will be a regular dish. I'm going to try and double the recipe next time and see how it goes. I'd like it to be a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This was so simple and delicious. I made it for a sailing picnic, it was a smash hit. They had it gone within 30 minutes. Definitely making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Oneida, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
If using frozen rhubarb put 1/4 cup of flour. This was excellent and the ladies at the retreat loved it! I also added sliced almonds to the crumble on top. Perfect just the way it is, no need to alter measurements. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I didn't measure the fruit to the recipe specifications so I think I used more than it called for. But it was delicious! Reminded me of my grandmother's crisp. I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 648) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States