Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This dessert was tasty. I followed the recommendation and put the crunch crust only on the top. I only had 2 cups of rhubarb so I used 4 cups of strawberries with it. WARNING: it will overflow with juice if you use that many strawberries. The strawberries had too much liquid and made a mess of my mother-in-law's oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I made exactly as stated except that I baked the bottom crust for 15 min. While baking I cooked the water, vanilla, sugar, cornstarch until thick (added a couple of min. just to be sure) I then poured this on top of fruit in large bowl & stirred until all fruit was covered. I poured this directly over bottom of crust (didn't cool) put the crumb mixture over top & baked 45 min. or until fruit was soft (check with fork). I served with ice cream & it was a hit. I didn't think it was too sweet but I will decrease the water to 3/4c next time. I didn't serve until it was cooled & it was a bit runny. Definitely a keeper! I think I may try some blueberries along with the rhubarb & strawberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Delicious. I used a little lemon juie to cut the tartness of the rhubarb, and put a couple pinches of sugar in with the rhubarb to marinate for a few minutes. I think next time I will used less sugar, even though I used 3/4 c this first time.. doesn't need that much sugar. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountaindweller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
First rate! Did make some suggested changes. Baked bottom crust for 15 minutes and let cool while preparing the fruit. I combined the fruit and cornstarch mixture in a bowl before pouring over bottom crust. I also reduced the white sugar to 3/4 and water to 3/4 cup. Added 1 tablespoon Grand Marnier to fruit mixture, but you really couldn't taste it. Baked an additional 45 minutes. Would definitely make again, but I think I'd reduce the water even more...it was pretty juicy. Tasted great, though, and our company loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Yum! This is a nice recipe. Different than most crisps I've make because this one uses crunch on the bottom too. I made a few modifcations and it turned out great. I baked the crunch about 15 minutes in the oven BEFORE putting the fruit in, as others have mentioned. Then I deleted the vanilla flavoring and instead used 1/2 cup of orange juice and 1/2 cup water and an extra tablespoon of cornstarch. The orange juice brightens the flavor. I also reduced the white sugar to about 3/4 cup so it would be a bit more tart. YUM! A definate keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was excellent! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
this was so delicious!!!think tho I will mash the fruits up instead to see what it would be like...Everybody loved it!!!Another keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
my HUsband loved it...Mr. picky himself thankyou for all the ideas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I used the recipe almost to the letter. However, I did not have any cornstarch, so I used a quick cook tapioca pudding mix (4tsp. tapicoa.= 1tbs corn starch). It gave it this wonderful vanillay creamy texture. Everyone LOVED IT! My only other advice would be to make sure you put something under your baking dish because it does bubble over a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
OMG- excellent! Was a bit sweet, but served with soft serve vanilla ice cream was really, really good. I did add as much fruit as i could fit and i think it might have been a little more that asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States