Rhubarb Stir Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Grrrr-EAT stuff! Following the advice of others, I made the following modifications: Used five cups of rhubarb instead of four; cut the nutmeg in half and added a quarter teaspoon of cinnamon to the topping. For those of you who are wondering about using frozen rhubarb, I did -- but I thawed it first. I drained off all but about a quarter cup of the liquid that was created as it thawed. This helped with the stiffness of the dough in the final stage and didn't seem to affect the finished product at all. From what others are saying, my batter was probably a lot easier to spread in the pan. As for results: I took the cake to my parents' house on a visit and everyone there really liked it -- even my dad, who isn't the easiest guy to please! I will definitely make this again; the recipe is going into my file. Thanks, Deb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
WARNING: the batter consistency will be as thick as cookie dough, but it is supposed to be that way! I double and triple checked to make sure I had this recipe right the first time I made it because it was so thick. 2nd WARNING: Wait to eat it!!!! The first piece I tried was right after it cooled and it was blah. The next day it was AWESOME! Make this the day before and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2000
I served this cake today for our weekly afternoon tea and we were amazed by how delicious it was. The only comment I have to make about preparation is four stalks of rhubarb equals four cups of chopped and I had not expected the batter to be so stiff and at first thought maybe it would not rise. By the time I got all the ingredients in the bowl except for the sour cream it was real stiff. But it all turned out very good. . the rhubarb gave this cake a tartness which was delicious with the sweetness of the brown sugar in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Very moist and delicious. I would have to agree with the other raters that this cake is better the next day. I used cinnamon and sugar on top instead of nutmeg. It was wonderful. NOTE: The batter is very thick like cookie dough.....don't worry though...it is supposed to be that way. Will definetly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I accidently added 1/4 cup of butter to the topping and I swirled it on top of the batter.It tasted unbelievably moist and rich. Even my mother-in-law who hates rhubarb liked it! This is now my FAVORITE rhubarb recipe~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hoffman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
This cake was very good. My daughter loved it with whipped creme. To me the nutmeg was a bit strong, so next time I would substitute cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
The cake came out great. The sugar on top gave it a sweet crunchy crust. The cake is very moist and not overly sweet. I'm sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Excellent cake and very easy. However, I only used 2 1/2 cups of rhubarb and it was more than enough. For the topping, I melted a half a stick of butter to add to the sugar/cinnamon mixture with enough sugar to make it pasty and then spread on the top of the cake. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
This was really, really good. I had my doubts when the batter was so stiff...almost like cookie dough...but it turned out sensational. Did substitute cinnamon for the nutmeg though because nutmeg just makes me kind of...nutty. Yup...good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
I love the tartness of rhubarb and this recipe was perfect!! The sweetness of the cake complements the tartness of the rhubarb. My family enjoyed this recipe - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States