Rhubarb Stir Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Pretty good cake, but replace rhubarb pie as my favorite rhubarb recipe? No way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Splashme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Beyond excellent! Only thing different was I omitted sugar and nutmeg to the top. In place I put the nutmeg inside. For a topping I made a mix of butter confectionary sugar, a tad lemon juice and 2 Tbsp. strawberry jam. I spread it on the warm cake (not hot) It just a bit more than a glaze and was a wonderful compliment to the rhubarb. Next time I will add a crumble top and use for a coffee cake. It was gobbled up in no time at all. Two from are coffe group that don't eat rhubarb loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Easy and turned out great....I took it to a potluck and didn't have any leftovers! I used frozen rhubarb, defrosted it and drained off all but 1/3 cup of the liquid, and it turned out great~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I loved this cake recipe. It is so easy and simple. The only changes I made, I added 3 cups of rhubarb and 1 cup of raspberries. Instead of the nutmeg I added cinnamon. I served this cake with vanilla ice cream. EVEN BETTER THE NEXT DAY!!!!!! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I added 1/4 applesauce because the batter was so dry I could not mix the dry with the wet. I also had to add the sour cream earlier then suggested just to get everything mixed together. It turned out great in the end. Not too sweet, so it goes really nice with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This recipe was quickly gobbled up at our house, but could use less sugar. The next time I make it, I will use 1 1/4 c. sugar and continue to substitute 1/2 c. yogurt for a 1/2 of the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Songtan, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Great recipe! used organic ingredients including spelt flour... I replaced sour cream with yogurt, also used less salt, 1/2 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp baking powder, and cinnamon/sugar topping. Tasted sour right after it was baked but was perfect the next day when flavours blended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lj_

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
FANTASTIC! Moist, flavorful & quick to make - a good use for the rhubarb in my garden! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STWALSH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Fabulous! Very moist as everyone stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
scrumptious! moist! easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States