Rhubarb Stir Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was so good! I only used 3 cups of rhubarb (it's all I had) and I used 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and added tbsp of butter to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Excellent! I didn't have enough rhubarb so I did 2 1/2 C Rhubarb and 2 1/2 C Apple. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon right into the batter. I also followed advice and stirred more butter into the top. Everyone at the brunch loved it, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Very yummy. I used 5 cups of fresh rhubarb instead of 4. I used the nutmeg in the batter instead of in the topping, and I used cinnamon in the topping. Since other reviews noted that the batter was very stiff, I alternated the additions of flour with the sour cream, so it was easier to mix. Nice with real whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This is one of the best Rhubarb recipies I have made. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I had to half this recipe due to a shortage of baking pans, and it still came out perfect! I also replaced half the nutmeg with cinnamon and the kitchen smelled wonderful while cooking. My boyfriend, who is not big on deserts, actually stated this one was a keeper! We also found the flavour much more developed the next day, but day one was scrumptious too! :-) Thanks for the recipe and great review tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This cake was very moist. I did add a bit extra rhubarb because I had a little left over. I should have baked it a litle longer. But the moistness made it tast fresher longer. I also cut down on the brown sugar. Only used a cup. Its a bit more tart as a result, but we love the taste of rhubarb, so it was perfet for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This cake was just okay for me, hubby didnt care for it. Was one of the few things I have even sent to work with him where he brought home some. Probably wouldnt make again. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Very good cake! I used whole wheat flour instead of AP, 3 cups of rhubarb because that is what I had, 1 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp baking soda to make it more cakey and less muffiny which a reviewer had noted. I also used 1/2 the sugar for the topping. My cake was baked in 32 minutes not 40.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Very tasty little cake, although a bit on the tart side. As others suggested, I substituted plain low-fat yogurt for the sour cream and cinnamon for the nutmeg; I also used just under half whole wheat flour, which worked fun. The batter is thick, and I did have to increase the cooking time a bit, but the cake still turned out nice and moist. Overall, a nice little cake that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by btobey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States