Rhubarb Stir Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was so good! I only used 3 cups of rhubarb (it's all I had) and I used 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and added tbsp of butter to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Excellent! I didn't have enough rhubarb so I did 2 1/2 C Rhubarb and 2 1/2 C Apple. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon right into the batter. I also followed advice and stirred more butter into the top. Everyone at the brunch loved it, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Very yummy. I used 5 cups of fresh rhubarb instead of 4. I used the nutmeg in the batter instead of in the topping, and I used cinnamon in the topping. Since other reviews noted that the batter was very stiff, I alternated the additions of flour with the sour cream, so it was easier to mix. Nice with real whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This is one of the best Rhubarb recipies I have made. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I had to half this recipe due to a shortage of baking pans, and it still came out perfect! I also replaced half the nutmeg with cinnamon and the kitchen smelled wonderful while cooking. My boyfriend, who is not big on deserts, actually stated this one was a keeper! We also found the flavour much more developed the next day, but day one was scrumptious too! :-) Thanks for the recipe and great review tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This cake was very moist. I did add a bit extra rhubarb because I had a little left over. I should have baked it a litle longer. But the moistness made it tast fresher longer. I also cut down on the brown sugar. Only used a cup. Its a bit more tart as a result, but we love the taste of rhubarb, so it was perfet for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This cake was just okay for me, hubby didnt care for it. Was one of the few things I have even sent to work with him where he brought home some. Probably wouldnt make again. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Very good cake! I used whole wheat flour instead of AP, 3 cups of rhubarb because that is what I had, 1 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp baking soda to make it more cakey and less muffiny which a reviewer had noted. I also used 1/2 the sugar for the topping. My cake was baked in 32 minutes not 40.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Very tasty little cake, although a bit on the tart side. As others suggested, I substituted plain low-fat yogurt for the sour cream and cinnamon for the nutmeg; I also used just under half whole wheat flour, which worked fun. The batter is thick, and I did have to increase the cooking time a bit, but the cake still turned out nice and moist. Overall, a nice little cake that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by btobey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States