Rhubarb Stir Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This is a delicious cake, and it was easy to make. I didn't know rhubarb is so good. I only had 4 stalks to use, so that was more like 2 cups of rhubarb. I substituted allspice for nutmeg. I think I could have baked if for another 10 minutes in addition to the 40 minutes, because it was a little too moist in the middle. I will try to make this again this spring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This cake is really good. I grow rhubarb and this is an excellent way to prepare early season rhubarb that is not as sweet as the later season harvest. I used 5 stalks so approximately 5 cups and find that to be a good ratio of sweet and tart. For the topping I went with cinnimon sugar instead of the nutmeg. Next time I might add some strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I ended up being just about 1/2 cup short on rhubarb, and it was still amazing. I used 4 stalks but would recommend 4 1/2 or 5 in the future to get the full 4 cups. I don't think it needs more than that. The flavor of the rhubarb was clear. I also used low-fat sour cream. Despite what everyone else says, I thought it was best on the first day. Wait 'til it's just cooled, and it's amazing. It has a nice crispy top. On the second day, it's still nice but it's something entirely different. It's incredibly moist and the top is now mushy. Still delicious, just different. At this point, either finish it off or put it in the fridge. I put ours in the fridge so that it wouldn't develop mold (it was that moist and there's only 2 of us). To me it's more like a quick bread that's the size of a cake. I put the sugar and cinnamon (in place of nutmeg) on top, but it really didn't need that much sugar on top. I think it would still have been amazing without any or at least half that much. My husband said I should be sure to give this 5 stars. He also wants me to give the recipe to his mother! :) I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Made this today exactly as written except had to add some strawberries as I did not have enough rhubarb. It is a wonderful not too sweet cake. thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I cut the recipe in half and put it in an 8" square baking dish because the 9 x 13 is more than I need for a family of 3. For those of you curious as to how I used 1/2 an egg, I just replaced the egg with eggbeaters. This was a great way to use rhubarb which we just love, so I'm always looking for new ideas. I too used cinnnamon for the top with the sugar and nothing else. It is very sweet so maybe next time I will cut down on the sugar amount. As others have commented, it is better the next day and has a consistency similar to a bread pudding vs. a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
We loved this! i use oatmeal flour just because i prefer it. it makes fantastic muffins. i made a mistake on it the first time and put an extra 1/3 cup or so of sour cream. it was a gooey cake, but just delicious if you heated it and put ice cream on it. my husband likes the muffins with a bit of cream cheese. i only use 1 cup of the brown sugar in it, not too wild about sweet things. the oat flour is a great change and i can see this cake with italian plums or berries or any fruit! the juice from the fruit really make this moist. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I wasn't keen on this because I didn't care for the texture and I expected more of a rhubarb flavour, although it was better the next day. I made it exactly as the recipe with no substitutions. My husband really liked it, but I won't make it again. I think the appearance would have been more appealing with white sugar in the mix and brown sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Halve the recipe and put in a 6 cup 6x8-inch rectangle baking dish. This size baking dish is perfect for making smaller cakes. Pyrex makes them. Be sure to get one with a lid for easy storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
this humble cake is so yummy, it is almost addictive! i cooked it just as the recipe detailed and it was perfect. the second time i made it i didn't have enough rhubarb so i also added some blueberries, and that was good, too. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastebud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was so good! I only used 3 cups of rhubarb (it's all I had) and I used 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and added tbsp of butter to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States