Rhubarb Stir Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I'm not the biggest Rhubarb lover, but the house we moved into came complete with a lot of Rhubarb plants growing along the back fence. Over the last week I've been picking it and giving it away. Someone made a pie, someone stewed it, etc... I was bored last weekend and decided to do a search for something to make with some Rhubarb and this little RHUBARB STIR CAKE recipe appeared. I had everything except the sour cream, so we ran out and picked some up and I went to work making the cake. Well, let me tell you, as we sat out on the front porch with a piece each, my husband kept making what I would call "YUMMY NOISES" and told me this was the BEST cake I had ever made. He rated it a 10/10 and proceeded to grab another large piece. I grabbed the cake and cut a small piece for my mom and we took it over to her the next day. She devoured it and stated she gave it a 11/10. My brother isn't a big rhubarb fan, but after hearing my husband and mom rave about this cake, he is going to try a piece next time I bake one. I went out to the garden and ended up bagging 4 more bags (4 cups each) of Rhubarb so I can bake this cake in the winter. (SMILE) This is an awesome wonderful cake!!! Sooooooo easy to make too!! LOVE IT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary_MCP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vineland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
As others mentioned a great way to use up Rhubarb and very TASTY as well. As others suggested, I used the cinnamon in place of the nutmeg. I also added a cup of chopped nuts to the recipe. Since it is so moist it is best if kept in the refrigerator after the first day. Since there are only two of us, we don't eat it up fast enough to leave out on the counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAT79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This cake was very good. I only had about 2-2 1/2 cups of rubarb on hand so I added about a cup of chopped strawberries. I was afraid it wouldn't be moist enough. It turned out plenty moist but I think I still would like it better with the full amount of rubarb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotinmykitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
We all loved this recipe. I had run out of nutmeg so I used cinnamon and then after I'd finished baking it I read all of the reviews that said to use it instead :) a happy accident. In my oven this needed a bit longer than the 40 minutes. Apart from that my only difference was to leave out the salt, but that's just me! Thank you for a great recipe that will be used again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Couldn't be better! My daughter's new favorite cake. I did use the Streusel topping as suggested by another user and drizzled a very light amount of runny cream cheese icing over the top of each piece. I'm also not a fan of nutmeg so I used the cinnamon. But for those who do like nutmeg, I would make no changes to the recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Unfortunately my family and I didn't like this one. We were really excited to try it with rhubarb from my grandfather's garden, but it just wasn't to our taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Great way to use up rhubarb as this recipe uses a lot. Dough is kind of tough to spread in the pan, but the cake bakes up beautifully. I like this recipe because it doesn't use a lot of butter. I did use fat free sour cream because that is what I had in the refrigerator. I am taking it to the teacher's lounge tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I followed the directions to the teeth except adding 1/2 cup more rhubarb just b/c that is what was left. I gave it 4 stars only b/c the cake texture was good but way to much nutmeg for my taste. The rhubarb flavor was WAY overpowered by it. Update 2011: Another spring-more rhubarb and I tried this again b/c I like the texture. Made it as a cake good...does get soggy fast. I made a batch of muffins and they were pretty wet. Had to leave them in the muffin pan otherwise they fell apart. They went into the freezer individually wrapped for a treat later. If making muffins dice the rhubarb small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIMPLELIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Good coffee cake for brunch. I cut down on the sugar sprinkled on top by using a tea infuser to sprinkle across. Used 2 tablespoon instead of 1/3 cup this way. Best made ahead and allowed to cool overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I made this for Mother's Day breakfast. I did use 5 (big) stalks (didn't really measure them). I also made a crumb cake topping (about 3-4 Tb. butter, 1/2 c - 3/4 c flour and maybe 1/2 c. of sugar (sorry, didn't measure). I'll be making this again! Glad for an easy recipe to use up rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States